2017 Scholarship for Women Studying Information Security Award Recipients Announced

Scholarship for Women Studying Information Security (SWSIS) announces their 2017 Scholars with the support of Applied Computer Security Associates (ACSA), the Computing Research Association’s Committee on the Status of Women in Computing Research (CRA-W), Hewlett Packard Enterprise (HPE), and Symantec.

SWSIS announced 15 new recipients and 5 continuing recipients of the 2017 Scholars.  SWSIS scholarships  supported collegiate women working to join the growing security industry. This ongoing scholarship supports talented women interested in building a career in IT security through academic funding and hands-on internship opportunities.

In 2017, ACSA, CRA-W, HPE and Symantec are funding 20 scholarships for undergraduates and masters’ degree candidates from colleges and universities across the United States including:

  • Bucknell University
  • Dakota State University
  • George Mason University
  • Johns Hopkins
  • New Mexico State University
  • Northeastern University
  • NYU Tandon School of Engineering
  • SUNY Albany
  • University at Albany
  • University of Maryland University College
  • University of Washington
  • Washington College
  • Wellesley College
  • Western Governors University

“CRA-W is proud to be part of the SWSIS scholarship program,” said Rebecca Wright, professor at Rutgers University (@RutgersU) and co-director of the ACSA/CRA-W SWSIS scholarship program. “SWSIS has the potential to make a positive impact both on these students’ lives and on the information security workforce.”

SWSIS scholarship details

The SWSIS program was founded by ACSA, a nonprofit organization dedicated to improving the understanding, theory and practice of cybersecurity. The SWSIS scholarship program is a joint effort between ACSA and CRA-W.

For more information on the program please visit the SWSIS website.