CRA-E Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentoring Award

The CRA-E Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentoring Award recognizes individual faculty members who have provided exceptional mentorship, undergraduate research experiences and, in parallel, guidance on admission and matriculation of these students to research-focused graduate programs in computing.

Eligible nominees are full-time faculty members at North American academic institutions. Faculty members include tenured and tenure-track faculty, instructors, and professors of the practice. Current members of CRA-E are not eligible to be nominated or to serve as the nominator.  A nominee must be nominated by a faculty member or a researcher in the computing field.

The award will be given annually, and multiple recipients may be chosen.  The selection committee will give appropriate consideration to different types of schools and mentors at different stages of their careers. Winners are notified by early February. The awardees will receive travel support to attend the meeting at which they accept the award.

Evaluation criteria

The committee will evaluate the evidence of: undergraduate student mentoring  during the most recent 10 years (being sensitive to the size of the program) including the number of students enrolling in research-oriented M.S. or Ph.D. programs; professional development provided to the students mentored; diversity of students; and impact and success of the students’ research.

The 2017 selection committee includes:

  • Nancy Amato (Texas A&M University)
  • Jeff Forbes (Duke University)
  • Pat Morreale (Kean University)
  • Manuel Pérez-Quiñones (UNC Charlotte)
  • Barbara Ryder (Virginia Tech) Chair

The nomination deadline has passed.

Questions and inquiries: