Margaret Martonosi Wins ABI Leadership and NCWIT Research Mentoring Awards

Originally Printed in the Summer/Fall 2013 Newsletter The Anita Borg Institute has named Margaret Martonosi as the 2013 winner of its Award for Technical Leadership. This award recognizes women technologists who demonstrate leadership through their contributions to technology and achievements in increasing the impact of women on technology. Recipients are honored by the technical women’s community […]

Mary Jane Irwin Wins Athena Award

Originally Printed in the Winter/Spring 2010 Newsletter The Association for Computing Machinery’s Council on Women in Computing (ACM-W) has named Mary Jane Irwin of the Pennsylvania State University as the 2010-2011 Athena Lecturer for her outstanding research contributions to computer-aided design, computer arithmetic, and computer architecture. Janie designed novel computer structures that are used in […]

Anne Condon Wins A. Nico Habermann Award

Originally Printed in the Winter/Spring 2010 Newsletter The CRA Board of Directors has selected Anne Condon to receive the 2010 A. Nico Habermann Award for her long standing and impactful service toward the goal of increasing the participation of women in computer science research. The A. Nico Habermann Award recognizes a person who has made […]

Jessica Hodgins Wins Computer Graphics Achievement Award

Originally Printed in Summer/Fall Newsletter 2010 The ACM SIGGRAPH Awards program recognizes indi-viduals who have made significant contributions to the computer graphics community through their research, teaching, service, or writing. The Computer Graphics Achievement Award is awarded annually to recognize long-lasting accomplishments that have provided a significant advance in the state of the art of […]

Manuela Veloso Wins ACM/SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award

Originally Printed in the Winter/Spring 2009 Newsletter Professor Manuela M. Veloso of Carnegie Mellon University is the recipient of the 2009 ACM/SIGART Autonomous Agents Research Award.  Professor Veloso has made significant and sustained contributions to Autonomous Agents and Multi-agent Systems in the areas of planning and control learning in multi-agent systems.  Veloso’s research is particularly […]

Fran Berman Wins Ken Kennedy Award

Originally Printed in the Winter/Spring 2010 Newsletter The IEEE Computer Society and the Association for Computing Machinery jointly present the inaugural Ken Kennedy Award to Dr. Francine Berman for her leadership in building national-scale cyberinfrastructure, the environment that supports rapidly expanding computing and information services over networked resources, including the Internet. Fran, vice president for […]

Barbara Liskov Wins ACM A. M. Turing Award

Originally Printed in the Summer/Fall 2009 Newsletter Professor Barbara Liskov of MIT has won the 2008 Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) A.M. Turing Award.  The Turing Award is the highest honor awarded in Computer Science and Engineering and carries a $250,000 prize. The ACM citation for the award states “Barbara Liskov has led important developments in computing […]