Grad Cohort Workshop Replicated Internationally

Over the past few years, in collaboration with ACM, CRA-W invited international observers to attend CRA-W’s Graduate Cohort Workshops, with the goal of creating similar events in their home countries. The representatives experienced first-hand how the event is structured and the impact it has on students. We are excited to share that this has resulted in several international versions of the Grad Cohort program based on the CRA-W model:

While each event is unique to the host country, all follow the two-day structure and give students the opportunity to learn from senior professionals. While CRA-W’s Grad Cohort is only open to graduate students in the US and Canada, these events give students around the world the chance to build communities of women in computing.

2019-2020 ACSA/CRA-W Scholarships for Women Studying Information Security Scholars Announced

CRA-W is happy to announce the recipients of the 2019-2020 ACSA/CRA-W Scholarships for Women Studying Information Security (SWSIS) scholarship. SWSIS is a partnership of Applied Computer Security Associates (ACSA) and CRA-W. The purpose of these scholarships is to provide assistance to women at the formative stages of their careers in these fields. Its long-term goal is to contribute to increasing the representation of women in the information security workforce.  ACSA founded the SWSIS scholarship program in 2011 and joined forces with CRA-W in 2014 to lead the selection process.

Expanding the Pipeline: The Second Annual CRA Grad Cohort for URMD Supports a Diverse Computing Research Community

On March 22-23, CRA hosted the second annual Graduate Cohort for Underrepresented Minorities and Persons with Disabilities (URMD Grad Cohort) in picturesque Waikoloa Village, Hawaii. The location provided beautiful scenery as students spent two days learning how to succeed in graduate school and networked with a diverse group of peers and senior researchers.

CRA Launches A Resource Portal for Broadening Participation in Computing Efforts

In partnership with the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the National Center for Women in Information Technology (NCWIT), CRA announces an initial launch of, a resource portal designed to amplify the NSF CISE Directorate’s efforts in broadening participation in computing (BPC). CRA anticipates that will provide a much-needed clearinghouse for the community to learn about and engage with ongoing projects to diversify computing.

CRA-W Welcomes New Board Member Meredith Ringel Morris

Meredith Ringel Morris recently joined the CRA-W board of directors. Morris is a principal researcher and research manager at Microsoft Research; she is also an affiliate professor at the University of Washington. Morris leads Microsoft Research’s Ability team, which conducts research in HCI and AI with the goal of developing innovative technologies that extend the capabilities of and enhance quality of life for people with disabilities.

CRA-W Board Member Maria Gini Receives 2019 CRA A. Nico Habermann Award

CRA recently selected CRA-W board member Maria Gini as the recipient of the 2019 A. Nico Habermann Award. The award is given to a person who has made outstanding contributions aimed at increasing the numbers and/or successes of underrepresented members in the computing research community.

She is deeply committed to diversity and possesses the combination of generous spirit, organizational skill, and boundless energy to carry out that commitment. Gini has created and run programs for women and minority men high school students, and co-directed the CRA-W Distributed REU (DREU) program for many years. She currently co-directs CRA-W’s Grad Cohort for Women program, and regularly organizes and mentoring programs at AI and robotics conferences.

Gini has had a tremendous, positive impact on countless individuals as well as on the computer science community. Her efforts in these programs have directly resulted in hundreds of students choosing to pursue research careers.

Applications Open for the 2019 CRA-W Grace Hopper Celebration (GHC) Research Scholars Program: Due April 5

Applications are now open for the 2019 CRA-W Grace Hopper Celebration (GHC) Research Scholars Program. This program provides guidance to undergraduate women on how to navigate the vast offerings at the GHC conference and opportunities to meet and interact with students and mentors with similar interests in small-group settings. The program will include gatherings on the first and last days of the conference, as well as research-focused activities that all Research Scholars will be required to attend. To learn more, visit the CRA-W GHC Research Scholars Program webpage.

The application deadline is April 5, 2019. Click here to submit an application.

Nature Article Shares How Some Men are Challenging Gender Inequity in Science

Nature recently published an article called, “How Some Men are Challenging Gender Inequity in the Lab: Offering support to female colleagues can trigger a culture change that makes science and engineering more equitable for all.” The article begins with comments from Juan Gilbert, chair of the Department of Computer and Information Science and Engineering at the University of Florida. Gilbert urges others to call out the realities of bias. He encourages individuals to address negative behaviors and actively seek diverse applicant pools in faculty search committees. Gilbert has mentored numerous students in CRA-W programs and received CRA’s A. Nico Habermann Award last year.

Click here to read the full article.