National Academy of Engineering Announces Newly Elected Members

The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected 106 new members and 23 foreign members. Several computing researchers are among those elected this year, including those with CRA connections. Among them are:

MartonosiMargaret Martonosi
National Science Foundation Assistant Director for Computer and Information Science and Engineering 
for “contributions to power-aware and power-efficient computer architectures and mobile systems”
She is a former CRA Board Member, former CRA Widening Participation Co-chair, and Computing Community Consortium (CCC)’s 2018 Next Steps in Quantum Computing: Computer Science’s Role visioning workshop organizer.

Kunle OlukotunKunle Olukotun
Stanford University
for “contributions to on-chip multiprocessor architectures and advancement to commercial realization” 
He was CCC’s 2018 Digital Computing Beyond Moore’s Law visioning workshop organizer, Co-chair of the 2018 and 2019 CRA URMD Graduate Cohort Workshops (now called the IDEALS Workshop), and a 2018 CRA A. Nico Habermann Award selection committee member.

Additional computing researchers recognized are: Luiz Andre Barroso, Lili Cheng, William Freeman, Mari Ostendorf, Fernando Pereira, and Krishan Sabnani.

From the NAE press release:

“Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer. Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”  Election of new NAE members is the culmination of a yearlong process.”

Please see the NAE press release for the full list of newly elected members.