Computer Science and Engineering Assistant and Associate Professor: Storage Systems and Databases (Initial Review 1.3.23)


University of California Santa Cruz
Computer Science and Engineering /Baskin Engineering

Computer Science and Engineering Assistant and Associate Professor: Storage Systems and Databases (Initial Review 1.3.23)  Job #JPF01399

Computer Science and Engineering /Baskin Engineering / UC Santa Cruz

View this position online and apply now: https://apptrkr.com/3683322

POSITION OVERVIEW

Position title: Assistant and Associate Professor (Storage Systems and Databases)

Salary range: Commensurate with qualifications and experience; academic year (nine-month basis).

Percent time: Full-time (100%)

Anticipated start: July 1, 2023, with the academic year beginning in September 2023. For the Assistant Professor rank, degree requirements must be met by June 30, 2024 for employment beyond that date.

APPLICATION WINDOW

Open date: October 4, 2022

Next review date: Tuesday, Jan 3, 2023 at 11:59pm (Pacific Time) Apply by this date to ensure full consideration by the committee.

Final date: Friday, Jun 30, 2023 at 11:59pm (Pacific Time)

Applications will continue to be accepted until this date, but those received after the review date will only be considered if the position has not yet been filled.

POSITION DESCRIPTION

The Department of Computer Science and Engineering (https://www.soe.ucsc.edu/departments/computer-science-and-engineering) at the University of California, Santa Cruz (UCSC) invites applications for positions at the Assistant and Associate Professor levels. We seek to hire up to three candidates with a strong background in computer science and engineering, with a particular focus on storage systems and databases. We are especially interested in candidates who can collaborate within the department and across the university.

The Department of Computer Science and Engineering is part of the Baskin School of Engineering at UC Santa Cruz. Our school has nationally and internationally known researchers in many areas, including theoretical computer science, programming languages, security, distributed systems, storage systems, computer architectures, machine learning, natural language processing, vision, VLSI, and networking. The Baskin School of Engineering is home to six departments, contributing to the richness of its research. Nestled in a redwood forest above the city of Santa Cruz, our beautiful campus has a long history of embracing groundbreaking interdisciplinary work. Our campus is the nearest University of California campus to Silicon Valley and has close research ties with the local computer industry. Our proximity to Silicon Valley, and our satellite campus there, afford opportunities and avenues for collaboration with researchers working in the many research and development labs in Silicon Valley, as well as with the other San Francisco Bay Area universities.

UC Santa Cruz values diversity, equity, and inclusion and is an EEO/AA/Vet/Disability/Minority Employer.”