CRA-E Graduate Fellows Program

The CRA-E Graduate Fellows program provides opportunities for Ph.D. candidates in a computing field to contribute to CRA-E projects, to network with computer science education advocates on the committee, and to engage in advocacy for mentoring undergraduate students and promote computer science research and undergraduate education at the national level.

CRA-E’s activities focus promoting  the health of the computing research pipeline including  promoting undergraduate research, providing resources to faculty to prepare talented students for research, and encouraging undergraduates to pursue graduate education and research careers in computing fields. A description of current and past activities can be found here.

Call for nominations

The Computing Research Association’s Education Committee (CRA-E) seeks one Ph.D. student to serve as a Fellow. This is an opportunity for graduate students in computing-related fields to gain experience serving on a national committee of the computer research community.

CRA-E typically has two fellows and appoints one new graduate fellow per year with each fellow serving for two years in staggered appointments. Fellows serve as part of the committee, providing a graduate student voice. They attend the annual CRA-E meeting, manage the research highlights series, and contribute to the CRA-E Conquer site that provides resources for undergraduate research and graduate school.

Nomination process:
Faculty members are invited to nominate one graduate student from their institution (but multiple nominations are permitted by distinct faculty members from the same institution) by collecting and submitting a nomination package that includes:

  1. One faculty recommendation letter describing the student’s interpersonal skills and evidence of interest in mentoring undergraduates. They should also state that the student is indeed actively involved in PhD research and has mentored undergrads in their research.
  2. The student’s C.V. including research interests and accomplishments.
  3. A one-page statement written by the student. The statement should describe the nominee’s interest in the CRA-E Fellow position, experience mentoring undergraduates, and long-term aspirations.

Typically, the faculty member will be in the student’s department, but not necessarily the student’s adviser.                   

Selection process:
CRA-E members will select the CRA-E Fellows, with preference given to students in their third year (or later) of graduate school in computer science, computer engineering, or information sciences. A CRA-E Fellow will serve for two years while still in graduate school, so the nominee should still have at least two years remaining in graduate school. Criteria for selection include interest in undergraduate education, evidence of interest in mentoring undergraduates in research, interpersonal skills, and interest in professional service at the national level. Applicants are encouraged to examine the CRA-E website and indicate what aspects of CRA-E activities are of interest to them.

Responsibilities of CRA-E Fellows include:

  • Attending the annual CRA-E meeting (typically in June, travel expenses to be paid by CRA-E)
  • Managing the research highlights series
  • Contributing to CRA-E’s social media
  • Providing a graduate student perspective for material on the CRA-E’s  Conquer site.

CRA-E Fellows are expected to contribute approximately 5 hours per month.

Denys Poshyvanyk, William & Mary
Lori Pollock, U of Delaware
Kelly Shaw, Williams College
Nadia Ady, U of Alberta
Yasra Chandio, UMass Amherst

Application Open: November 8, 2022

Application Deadline: February 10, 2023

Decisions will be made by early March.

The Fellow’s term starts June 1 with a one-year appointment, renewable for a second year.

Current and Past Fellows:
Yasra Chandio, U of Massachusetts, Amherst (2022-present)
Nadia Ady, U of Alberta (2021 – present)
Ian Ludden, UIUC (2020 – 2022)
Jean Salac, U of Chicago (2020 – 2021)
Joslenne Peña, Penn State  (2019 – 20)
Robert Bowden, Harvard  (2018-20)
Booma S. Balasubramani, UIC (2017-19)
Keith Feldman, Notre Dame (2016-18)
Max Grossman, Rice  (2016-17)

New Fellow Announcements: 2022, 2021, 20202019, 2018, 2017, 2016