2015 ACM Fellows Announced

ACM Logo

Today, the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) announced the 2015 ACM Fellows. The Fellows are recognized for their significant contributions to the development and application of computing. Several CRA participants were named Fellows:

  • Nancy Amato, CRA Board Member, CRA-W Co-Chair
  • Cynthia Dwork, CCC Council Member
  • Mary Czerwinski, CRA Board Member
  • Julia Hirschberg, CRA-W Board Member, Former CRA Board Member
  • Elizabeth Mynatt, CCC Vice-Chair

From the ACM Press Release:

“Whether they work in leading universities, corporations, or research laboratories, these newly minted ACM Fellows are responsible for the breakthroughs and industrial innovations that are transforming society at every level,” explains ACM President Alexander L. Wolf. “At times, the contributions of a Fellow may include enhancements to a device that immediately impacts our daily lives. At other times, new research discoveries lead to theoretical advances that, while perhaps not immediately perceptible, have substantial long-term impacts.”

The 2015 ACM Fellows have been cited for contributions to key computing fields including software research, data mining, computer graphics, computer and mobile systems, system security, multiprocessor and memory architecture design, and research in sensor networks.

Congrats to all of the 2015 ACM Fellows!