Announcing the 2020 Computing Innovation Fellows

CI Fellows 2020

This past spring, when hiring practices were rapidly changing due to COVID-19, the Computing Research Association (CRA) and its Computing Community Consortium (CCC) launched the CIFellows 2020 program, with strong support from the National Science Foundation (NSF). The program aims to provide a career-enhancing bridge experience for recent and soon-to-be PhD graduates in computing. This effort was inspired by the CRA/CCC’s NSF-funded Computing Innovation Fellows Programs with cohorts starting 2009, 2010, and 2011, which funded a total of 127 fellows after the 2008 recession. 

Many people invested their time and talents to our CIFellows 2020 program, including co-principal investigators on the NSF grant that funded the program: Andrew P. Bernat (CRA Executive Director), Elizabeth Bradley (CCC Chair), Ann Schwartz Drobnis (CCC Director), Mark D. Hill (CCC Chair Emeritus and CRA Board Member), and Ellen W. Zegura (PI and CRA Board Chair). Within one month of the program’s announcement, 550 applications were submitted covering a wide variety of research areas and over 140 universities. The applications were reviewed by more than 270 members of the community under a tight two week deadline. Thank you to the entire community for your involvement in promoting, mentoring, and reviewing applications for our recent graduates.  

CRA and CCC are extremely excited to announce the CIFellows for 2020! They comprise 59 diverse researchers covering a broad range of research areas in computing. The class of Fellows is 52% women, come from 46 universities, and will be beginning their fellowships at 43 different universities. Below is a listing of the 2020 CIFellows. You can find out more about each fellow and the program here.

CRA and CCC are working with the computing community to ensure that this program facilitates career and skill growth for the Fellows in supportive environments to foster the talent of the future computing research community.  Please join us in congratulating the new Fellows!


CIFellow Primary Affiliation Fellowship Institution Mentor
Alex Ahmed Northeastern University Carnegie Mellon University Sarah Fox
Rika Antonova KTH Royal Institute of Technology in Stockholm Stanford University Jeannette Bohg
Evangelos Atlidakis Columbia University Brown University Vasileios Kemerlis
Ramin Ayanzadeh University of Maryland, Baltimore County Georgia Institute of Technology Moinuddin Qureshi
Maynard Ball Columbia University University of Washington Huija Lin
Suguman Bansal Rice University University of Pennsylvania Rajeev Alur
Aline Bessa New York University Tandon School of Engineering New York University Christopher Musco
Clara Caldeira University of California, Irvine Indiana University Bloomington Katherine Connelly
Richard Canevez Pennsylvania State University University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa Jenifer Sunrise Winter
Marco Carmosino Simon Fraser University Boston University Mark Bun
Kathryn Cunningham University of Michigan Northwestern University Eleanor O’Rourke
Wenhan Dai Massachusetts Institute of Technology University of Massachusetts Amherst Donald Towsley
Sunipa Dev University of Utah University of California, Los Angeles Kai-Wei Chang
Michael Ann DeVito Northwestern University University of Colorado Boulder Jed Brubaker
Yi Ding University of Chicago Massachusetts Institute of Technology Michael Carbin
Houda El mimouni Drexel University Indiana University Bloomington Selma Šabanović
Emmanuel Garza California Institute of Technology University of Southern California Constantine Sideris
Kari George University of California, Los Angeles University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Colleen Lewis
Amir Ghasemianlangroodi University of Colorado Boulder Yale University Nicholas Christakis
Nikolaos Giannarakis Princeton University University of Wisconsin-Madison Loris D’Antoni
Shiry Ginosar University of California, Berkeley University of California, Berkeley Jitendra Malik
Ben Greenman Northeastern University Brown University Shriram Krishnamurthi
Biresh Kumar Joardar Washington State University Duke University Krishnendu Chakrabarty
Gabriel Kaptchuk Johns Hopkins University Boston University Ran Canetti
Vera Khovanskaya Cornell University University of California, San Diego Lilly Irani
Rafal Kocielnik University of Washington California Institute of Technology Anima Anandkumar
Deepak Kumar University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign Stanford University Zakir Durumeric
Taisa Kushner University of Colorado Boulder Oregon Health & Science University Peter Jacobs
Qi Lei University of Texas at Austin Princeton University Jason Lee
Szu-Yu Liu Indiana University Bloomington University of California, Irvine Paul Dourish
Byron Lowens Clemson University University of Michigan Florian Schaub
Nicholas Lytle North Carolina State University University of Florida Kristy Boyer
Naja Mack University of Florida Morehouse College Kinnis Gosha
Lara Martin Georgia Institute of Technology University of Pennsylvania Chris Callison-Burch
David Narváez Rochester Institute of Technology University of Rochester Lane A. Hemaspaandra
Sabrina Neuman Massachusetts Institute of Technology Harvard University Vijay Janapa Reddi
Minh (Tan) Nguyen Rice University University of California, Los Angeles Stan Osher
Marziyeh Nourian North Carolina State University University of Chicago Andrew Chien
Ellen Novoseller California Institute of Technology University of California, Berkeley Ken Goldberg
Michael O’Neill University of Wisconsin- Madison Lehigh University Frank Curtis
Zoe Paraskevopoulou Princeton University Northeastern University Amal Ahmed
Beatrice Perez University College London Dartmouth College David Kotz
Brianna Posadas University of Florida Virginia Tech Kim Niewolny
Marlen Promann Purdue University University of Texas at Austin James Howison
Gokul Subramanian Ravi University of Wisconsin- Madison University of Chicago Frederic Chong
Ibrahim Sabek University of Minnesota Massachusetts Institute of Technology Michael Cafarella
Soheil Salehi Mobarakeh University of Central Florida University of California, Davis Houman Homayoun
Sebastian Schuster Stanford University New York University Tal Linzen
Amirbehshad Shahrasbi Carnegie Mellon University Harvard University Madhu Sudan
Abigale Stangl University of Texas at Austin University of Washington Leah Findlater
Minka Stoyanova City University of Hong Kong University of Colorado Boulder Reece Auguiste
Morgan Turner Brown University University of Minnesota Daniel Keefe
Yu-Chun Yen University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign University of California, San Diego Steven Dow
Justin Yim University of California, Berkeley Carnegie Mellon University Aaron Johnson
Kianoosh Yousefi University of Delaware Columbia University Marco Giometto
Alisa Yurovsky Stony Brook University Stony Brook University Richard Moffitt
Yixue Zhao University of Southern California University of Massachusetts Yuriy Brun
Pengfei Zheng Duke University University of Wisconsin-Madison Aditya Akella