Valerie Taylor Named Argonne National Laboratory Division Director


Former CRA Board Member Valerie Taylor has been appointed as the next director of the Mathematics and Computer Science (MCS) division at the U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) Argonne National Laboratory, effective July 3, 2017. She most recently served as the senior associate dean of academic affairs in the College of Engineering and a Regents Professor and the Royce E. Wisenbaker Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at Texas A&M University.

From the Argonne National Laboratory announcement:

“Valerie brings with her a wealth of leadership experience, computer science knowledge and future vision,” said Rick Stevens, Argonne Associate Laboratory Director for Computing, Environment and Life Sciences. “We feel strongly that her enthusiasm and drive will serve her well in her new role, and are pleased to have her joining our staff.”

In addition to being a former CRA board member, Valerie has also participated on the CRA Education Committee (CRA-E) and Committee on the Status of Women in Computing Research (CRA-W). She also serves as the executive director of the Center for Minorities and People with Disabilities in IT (CMD-IT).