Congratulations to the 2021 ACM Fellows!

The ACM recently named 71 of its members as ACM Fellows for wide-ranging and fundamental contributions in areas including algorithms, computer science education, cryptography, data security and privacy, medical informatics, and mobile and networked systems ─ among many other areas. The accomplishments of the 2021 ACM Fellows underpin important innovations that shape the technologies we use every day.

From the ACM Press Release 

“Computing professionals have brought about leapfrog advances in how we live, work, and play,” said ACM President Gabriele Kotsis. “New technologies are the result of skillfully combining the individual contributions of numerous men and women, often building upon diverse contributions that have emerged over decades. But technological progress would not be possible without the essential building blocks of individual contributors. The ACM Fellows program honors the creativity and hard work of ACM members whose specific accomplishments make broader advances possible. In announcing a new class of Fellows each year, we celebrate the impact ACM Fellows make, as well as the many technical areas of computing in which they work.”


Several individuals involved with CRA have been named Fellows. They are:

David Bader
former CRA Board Member
For contributions to high-performance computing systems, graph analytics, and technical leadership in parallel computing

Tanzeem Choudhury 
For contributions to mobile systems for behavioral sensing and health interventions
Anind Dey
CCC Aging in Place Workshop
For contributions to ubiquitous computing and large-scale behavioral studies
Batya Friedman
CRA Best Practices: Evaluating Scholarship in Hiring, Tenure, and Promotion
For contributions to human values in the technical design process
Feifei Li 
CCC AI Roadmap
For contributions to query processing and optimization and to cloud database systems

Additional information about the 2021 ACM Fellows, as well as previously named ACM Fellows, is available through the ACM Fellows site.