2022 CRA Conference at Snowbird Update

Snowbird22_200July 19 – 21, 2022
Snowbird, UT

The biennial CRA Conference at Snowbird is the flagship invitation-only conference for the leadership of the North American computing research community.

The conference site: The Snowbird Resort is located in the Wasatch Mountains about 30 miles from Salt Lake City. A top-rated ski resort in the winter, off-season at Snowbird offers hiking amidst beautiful scenery.

Conference theme: Socially Responsible Computing Research

This year’s CRA Conference at Snowbird will explore the tremendous opportunities for computing research to dramatically benefit the human condition, as well as the related responsibility for computing research to consider the risks inherent in the work we do. Ensuring socially responsible intentions and practices is critical to realizing the future potential of computing research.

Sessions will be broken down into four tracks:

  • Track 1: Computing Departments – Undergraduate and graduate interest in computer science has skyrocketed. This track includes sessions that will explore how to support high-quality, diverse research and teaching in the context of booming enrollments.
  • Track 2: Computing Education  This track looks at areas that are emerging as an important part of the computing research curriculum, including ethics, security and privacy, and data science.
  • Track 3: Computing in Industry  As computing grows ubiquitous, computing research is increasingly important to industry. This track will cover how research is conducted in industry and the partnership between industry and academia.
  • Track 4: Computing for Good – This track will explore the ways that computing research can help create a better future by supporting social justice, removing bias, and driving environmental sustainability

The preliminary agenda is available here.

2022 Conference at Snowbird Organizing Committee: 

Penny Rheingans (University of Maine) Co-Chair

Shashi Shekhar (University of Minnesota) Co-Chair

Jaime Teevan (Microsoft) Co-Chair

James Allan (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)

Christine Alvarado (University of California, San Diego)

Carla Brodley (Northeastern University)

Peter Harsha (CRA)

Kate Larson (University of Waterloo)

Ran Libeskind-Hadas (Claremont McKenna College))

Divesh Srivastava (AT&T)


New Department Chairs Workshop

Carla Brodley (Northeastern University) Co-Chair

Katie Siek (Indiana University) Co-Chair