Computing Research News

Back to Archive List

CRA-E Welcomes Two New Board Members!

CRA-E would like to welcome two new members to its Board of Directors: Dorian Arnold and Renee Bryce. 

Dorian ArnoldDorian Arnold is a tenured, associate professor of Computer Science at Emory University. From 2009-2017 he was an assistant and associate professor at The University of New Mexico. He studies distributed systems, fault-tolerance, online (streaming) data analysis, and software tools for high-performance computing environments. Particularly, he is interested in the performance, scalability and reliability issues of extreme scale environments comprising many thousands or even millions of components. He has 60+ peer-reviewed publications with 1800+ citations. His research projects have won two Top 100 R&D awards. In 2017, he was named an ACM Distinguished Speaker.

Arnold has held leadership roles at major HPC venues including chair of many technical components and steering committee member for the SC Conference and as an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems. He is committed to diversity and inclusion and served as General Chair for the 2017 ACM Richard Tapia Celebration of Diversity and the 2016 CRA HPC Pipeline Workshop. Dorian has also been a speaker at several CRA-WP events throughout the years.

Arnold earned Ph.D. and M.S. degrees in Computer Science from the Universities of Wisconsin and Tennessee, respectively. He earned a B.S. in Math and Computer Science from Regis University (Denver, CO) and his A.S. in Physics, Chemistry and Math from St. John’s College (Belize).


Renee BryceRenee Bryce is a Professor at University of North Texas. She earned her Ph.D. in Computer Science from Arizona State University in 2006. She earned her B.S. and M.S. degrees from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. Her research areas interests include Software Engineering, with emphasis on software testing and usability testing and Computer Science Education, with emphasis on software testing education.

Bryce earned her Ph.D. in Computer Science from Arizona State University in May 2006. She earned her B.S. (1999) and M.S. (2000) degrees from Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. She has served as Primary Investigator on funding from the National Science Foundation, National Institute of Standards and Technology, U.S. Forest Service, Lawrence Livermore National Lab, and more. Over the past decade, her total research funding has been $2.8 million on shared and individual projects with her share of expenditures as $2.2 million. Dr. Bryce is a member of the U.S. National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) Automated Combinatorial Testing for Software (ACTS) group.

Dr. Bryce is the recipient of the 2015 NCWIT Undergraduate Research Mentor Award for the category of Junior Faculty (Assistant/Associate Professor) at a Research University. She is also a recipient of the 2006 Arizona State Commission on the Status of Women award for her “achievements and contributions towards advancing the status of women”. One of her students received the “Best M.S. Thesis” in the Department of Computer Science at Utah State University and one received the “Best Honors Thesis” at Utah State University (one award for the entire university).



CRA-E Selects 2018 Graduate Fellow


Professional Development Workshop for Teaching-Track Faculty

Professional Development Workshop for Teaching-Track Faculty

2018 SIGCSE Pre‐Symposium Event
Wednesday, February 21, 2018
 8:30 AM- 4:00 PM
Organized by Computing Research Association, Education Committee with generous support from Google
Click here for more information.

Computer Science departments have experienced significant course enrollment increases and many Ph.D. granting departments have introduced or increased the number of academic teaching faculty positions that have academic rank. The one-day workshop will focus on the professional development of teaching track faculty (professor of practice, instructor, clinical faculty, lecturer, etc.) in Ph.D. granting departments. The workshop fills a crucial need as many departments have limited experience on how to mentor, evaluate, and promote this new type of faculty. The sessions will focus on how teaching faculty can strategize their involvement in departmental as well as research activities, different forms of scholarship and leadership activities to pursue, and best practices for success, promotion, and advancement. Academic leaders involved in supervising and evaluating teaching track faculty will provide their perspective and insights.

The deadline to receive full consideration for financial travel support is Thursday, January 25, 2018. Applicants will be notified of a decision by February 2. After January 25, applications will be accepted until capacity is reached. Funding for travel grants for this event generously provided by Google.