CRA Bulletin

The CRA Bulletin frequently shares news, timely information about CRA initiatives, and items of interest to the general community.
Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay connected.

2020 Board of Directors Election Slate; Nominees By Petition Sought

2020 Election Committee’s Slate of Nominees for the CRA Board of Directors

CRA is pleased to announce the 2020 Election Committee’s slate of nominees for the CRA Board:

Academic (7 openings)
Alex Aiken (Stanford University)
Nancy Amato (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)*
Cindy Bethel (Mississippi State University)
Carla Brodley (Northeastern University)*
David Ebert (Purdue University)
Dan Grossman (University of Washington)*
Mary Hall (University of Utah)*
Sumi Helal (University of Florida)
Mark Hill (University of Wisconsin-Madison)*
Timothy Pinkston (University of Southern California)
Hridesh Rajan (Iowa State University)
Christian Skalka (University of Vermont)
Vaidy Sunderam (Emory University)
Josep Torrellas (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)

Industry (2 openings)
Kamelia Aryafar (
Kim Hazelwood (Facebook)*
Fatma Ozcan (IBM Research)

*Denotes current board members.

Petition Nominees Sought for CRA Board of Directors

The Computing Research Association seeks your help in suggesting nominations for its Board of Directors. We want individuals who have the time, energy and initiative to work on CRA issues on behalf of the entire CRA community. We have a working board, and all members are expected to be involved with community issues.

The CRA Elections Committee has recently announced its slate of nominees for a seat on the Board of Directors. CRA also encourages nominations by petition. Petition nominations must be signed by the Designated Voting Representatives of at least five Constituent Member Organizations that are current in dues payment.

A complete nomination package for petition candidates must be submitted here no later than February 28, 2020. Separately, each of the five supporters of the petition must send an e-mail to simply stating their support for the petition candidate to run for a seat on the CRA Board of Directors.

Questions can be sent to

Important dates and events:
• On March 6, 2020, final ballots will be distributed to all CRA department chairs and lab directors. Each will have one vote for each open slot on the board.
• On March 31, 2020, completed ballots must be returned to CRA.
• In early April, the election results will be announced.