CRA Bulletin

The CRA Bulletin frequently shares news, timely information about CRA initiatives, and items of interest to the general community.
Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay connected.

American Academy of Arts and Science New Members

The American Academy of Arts and Science (AAAS) recently announced 269 new members elected to the academy. Among them are nine new members under the “computer science” category, including several that have worked closely with the Computing Research Association, CRA-Widening Participation, and  Computing Community Consortium in the past. 

The Academy is an honorary society that recognizes outstanding individuals across all disciplines, perspectives, and professions. Founded in 1780 the American Academy of Arts and Science brings together cutting-edge researchers to examine new ideas and work together to  “cultivate every art and science which may tend to advance the interest, honor, dignity, and happiness of a free, independent, and virtuous people.”

Please join us in congratulating the following computing researchers on this amazing accomplishment. 

Michael Franklin,  University of Chicago –Worked on CCC white papers  The Future of Computing Research: Industry-Academic Collaborations, A U.S. Research Roadmap for Human Computation, and Wide-Area Data Analytics . CRA Board member from 2015-2021.

Lydia E. Kavraki,  Rice University – Has participated in CRA-WP activities. 

Maja Matarić,  University of Southern California Viterbi School of Engineering – CCC Council Member 2016 – 2019. Involved in numerous CCC initiatives including, A Computational Approach to Earlier Detection and Intervention For Infants with Developmental Disabilities”. Has also participated in CRA-WP activities.  

Kathryn S. McKinley,  Google LLC – Member of the CRA-W/CRA-WP board for years, and served as Co-Chair of the CRA-W Board from 2011-2014. She also served on the CRA Board from 2012-2021. 

Xuedong D. Huang,  Microsoft Corporation

Piotr Indyk,  Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Marta Zofia Kwiatkowska (IHM),  University of Oxford

Gordon Plotkin (IHM),  University of Edinburgh; Google LLC

Moti Yung,  Google LLC

Please join us in congratulating the AAAS new members!

American Academy of Arts and Science New Members