CRA Bulletin

The CRA Bulletin frequently shares news, timely information about CRA initiatives, and items of interest to the general community.
Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay connected.

Call for Nominations: NAS Award for Scientific Reviewing in Computer Science

This year, the National Academy of Sciences (NAS) Award for Scientific Reviewing will recognize a person in the field of computer science who has contributed to surveying the literature. The winner will receive a $20,000 award.

“The NAS Award for Scientific Reviewing has been presented annually since 1979 to recognize authors, whose reviews have synthesized extensive and difficult material, rendering a significant service to science and influencing the course of scientific thought.” 

Nomination requirements:

  1. A letter from the nominator describing the candidate’s work and why he or she should be selected for the award.
  2. Curriculum vitae of no more than two (2) pages.
  3. List of reviews upon which the nomination is based.
  4. Letters of support. Two (2) letters are required.
    • Support letters must be written by individuals from institutions outside both the nominator and the nominee’s institution.
    • Members of the selection committee may not author support letters.
  5. A suggested citation.

The nomination deadline is October 1, 2015. Click here for additional information and to submit a nomination. You do not need to be a member of NAS to nominate someone.

The 2016 award committee includes:
John E. Hopcroft, Cornell University (Chair)
Manuel Blum, Carnegie Mellon University
David Forney, Jr., Motorola, Inc.
Andrew J. Viterbi, University of Southern California



Call for Nominations: NAS Award for Scientific Reviewing in Computer Science