CRA Bulletin

The CRA Bulletin frequently shares news, timely information about CRA initiatives, and items of interest to the general community.
Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay connected.

Congratulations to the 2020 ACM Fellows!

ACM Logo
The ACM recently named 95 of its members as ACM Fellows for outstanding contributions that underpin today’s computing innovations. The accomplishments of the 2020 ACM Fellows have driven innovations that ushered in significant improvements across many areas of technology, industry, and personal life.

From the ACM Press Release: 

“This year our task in selecting the 2020 Fellows was a little more challenging, as we had a record number of nominations from around the world,” explained ACM President Gabriele Kotsis. “The 2020 ACM Fellows have demonstrated excellence across many disciplines of computing. These men and women have made pivotal contributions to technologies that are transforming whole industries, as well as our personal lives. We fully expect that these new ACM Fellows will continue in the vanguard in their respective fields.”

Several individuals involved with CRA have been named Fellows. They are: 

James Allan
University of Massachusetts, Amherst
CRA Board Treasurer
“For contributions to information retrieval, including topic detection and tracking” 

Susanne E. Hambrusch
Purdue University
“For research and leadership contributions to computer science education”
CRA-E Co-Chair, Former CRA Vice Chair and Former CRA-WP Board Member

Arvind Krishnamurthy
University of Washington
“For contributions to networks and distributed computer systems”
CRA Board Member

Maja Matarić
University of Southern California
“For contributions to socially assistive robotics and human-robot systems”
Former CCC Council Member

Meredith Ringel Morris
Microsoft Research
“For contributions to human-computer interaction, information retrieval, computer-supported cooperative work, and accessibility”
CRA-WP Board Member 

Mary Beth Rosson
Pennsylvania State University
“For contributions to human-computer interaction, including scenario-based design”

Radhika Nagpal
Harvard University
“For contributions to collective intelligence, including self-organizing systems and swarm robotics”
CRA-WP Grad Cohort Workshop for Women Speaker/Mentor

Additional information about the 2020 ACM Fellows, as well as previously named ACM Fellows, is available through the ACM Fellows site.