CRA Board Chair and Members Named AAAS Fellows

CRA Board Chair Dr. Daniel Reed has been elected as a fellow to the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Section on Information, Computing, and Communication for “outstanding research in the field of high performance computing, exemplary professional leadership, and distinguished national service” said an article in the Triangle Business Journal. Reed is the director of the Renaissance Computing Institute, the vice chancellor of information technology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and the Chancellor’s Eminent Professor. He is also a member of the President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology (PCAST) and a former member of the President’s Information Technology Advisory Committee (PITAC).
Update (12/06/06) Board members Dr. Marc Snir, head of the computer scienc department at the University of Illinos Urbana-Champaign and Dr. Robert Sproull, director of Sun Microsystems Laboratories were also among those elected as AAAS Fellows.
Snir is an ACM Fellow, an IEEE Fellow and serves on the NSF CISE Advisory Committee.
Sproull is a member of the National Academy of Engineering and was formerly on the US Air Force Scientific Advisory Board.
They will be recognized at the AAAS annual meeting in San Francisco in February 2007. Visit AAAS for a list of the elected Fellows.
Congratulations Dan, Marc, and Bob!