CRA Bulletin

The CRA Bulletin frequently shares news, timely information about CRA initiatives, and items of interest to the general community.
Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay connected.

National Academy of Engineering Announces New Members


Hirschberg (left) and Yelick (right).

Today, the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) announced it has elected 84 new members and 22 foreign members. Among those elected were Julia Hirschberg, CRA-W co-chair and former CRA board member, and Katherine Yelick, CCC council member. Several of the members elected have a background in computing research; congratulations to all.

  • Julia Hirschberg: Percy K. and Vida L.W. Hudson Professor of Computer Science, and chair, department of computer science, Columbia University, New York City. “For contributions to the use of prosody in text-to-speech and spoken dialogue systems, and to audio browsing and retrieval.”
  • Katherine A. Yelick: associate laboratory director, computer science, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, and professor, electrical engineering and computer science, University of California, Berkeley. “For software innovation and leadership in high-performance computing.”

From the NAE press release:

“Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.  Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/ implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”

Individuals in the newly elected class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on Oct. 8, 2017.  A list of the newly elected members and foreign members follows, with their primary affiliations at the time of election and a brief statement of their principal engineering accomplishments.”