CRA Bulletin

The CRA Bulletin frequently shares news, timely information about CRA initiatives, and items of interest to the general community.
Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay connected.

2020 NSF Alan T. Waterman Award Nominations Open

By Erwin Gianchandani, NSF Acting Assistant Director for Computer and Information Science and Engineering

Dear Colleagues,

Each year, the National Science Foundation (NSF) recognizes an outstanding young researcher in a field of science or engineering with the Alan T. Waterman Award. Nominations for the 2020 Waterman Award are now being accepted and are due, via, by October 21, 2019.

Candidates for this prestigious honor should have demonstrated exceptional individual achievements in scientific or engineering research of sufficient quality to place them at the forefront of their peers.  Criteria include originality, innovation, and significant impact on their fields. In order to be eligible for the award, a candidate must be a U.S. citizen or permanent resident; 40 years of age or younger, or no more than 10 years beyond receipt of the Ph.D. degree, as of December 31st, 2019. NSF is especially interested in nominations for women, members of underrepresented groups, and person with disabilities in science and engineering.

The Waterman Award was established by Congress in August 1975 to mark the 25th anniversary of NSF and to honor its first Director. In addition to a medal commemorating the award, the awardee receives a grant of $1,000,000 over five years for scientific research.

There have been a number of awardees from the computer and information science and engineering community over the years – including one just last year! – and it would be wonderful to have another who represents the exceptional advancements in our field!  But to receive the award, one must, of course, first be nominated – and that is where you can help!  Please consider whether you have a candidate in your department or college (or beyond) who you think would be an outstanding nominee. For details about the Waterman Award’s history as well as the nomination procedure and selection criteria, please visit:

Erwin Gianchandani
NSF Acting Assistant Director for Computer and Information Science and Engineering