CRA Bulletin

The CRA Bulletin frequently shares news, timely information about CRA initiatives, and items of interest to the general community.
Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay connected.

Announcing the VMware Systems Research Award for Early Career Faculty

By Sonal Jain Wong, VMware

We are pleased to announce a new award in support of the computer science research community. The objective of this award is to call attention to a valuable and promising body of emerging computer science systems research and provide support for continued advances by an emerging research leader. This will be an annual award in the amount of USD 100,000, granted to the recipient’s university in support of her/his research.

Eligible nominees are faculty worldwide within 5 years of their first tenure-track appointment. Nominations must be submitted by a university department chair and each submission should include a one-page letter of nomination, a proposed citation and three references with contact information. Each department chair is limited to a single nomination which must be submitted via email at The deadline for the nominations submission is November 15, 2016.

Each year, an Award Committee comprising senior faculty and VMware research leaders will be responsible for reviewing nominations and making a selection. Evaluation criteria will include the nominees’ originality, impact, and future potential of their early-career research results in computer science systems research.

2016 VMware Systems Research Award Committee

Committee Chair

  • Michael Stonebraker (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

Committee Members

  • Greg Ganger (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • James Larus (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne)
  • Jennifer Rexford (Princeton University)
  • Chris Ramming (VMware)
  • Pratap Subrahmanyam (VMware)
  • David Tennenhouse (VMware)
  • Raj Yavatkar (VMware)