CRA Bulletin

The CRA Bulletin frequently shares news, timely information about CRA initiatives, and items of interest to the general community.
Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay connected.

Congratulations to the 2017 ACM Fellows

The ACM recently named 54 of its members as ACM Fellows for transformative contributions and advancing technology in the digital age. They were honored for seminal work in areas including artificial intelligence, bioinformatics, computer graphics, cloud computing, and software engineering.

From the ACM Press Release:

“To be selected as a Fellow is to join our most renowned member grade and an elite group that represents less than 1 percent of ACM’s overall membership,” explains ACM President Vicki L. Hanson. “The Fellows program allows us to shine a light on landmark contributions to computing, as well as the men and women whose hard work, dedication, and inspiration are responsible for groundbreaking work that improves our lives in so many ways.”

Several CRA participants were named Fellows:

Edward A. Fox (Former CRA Board Member)
Virginia Tech
For contributions in information retrieval and digital libraries

Gregory D. Hager (CRA Board and Former CCC Council Chair)
Johns Hopkins University
For contributions to vision-based robotics and to computer-enhanced interventional medicine

Andrew K. McCallum (Former CCC Council Member)
University of Massachusetts at Amherst
For contributions to machine learning with structured data, and innovations in scientific communication

Gail C. Murphy (Former CRA-W Board Member)
The University of British Columbia
For contributions to recommenders for software engineering and to program comprehension

Tal Rabin (Former CCC Council Member)
IBM Research
For contributions to foundations of cryptography, including multi-party computations, signatures, and threshold and proactive protocol design

Congratulations to all the 2017 Fellows. Click here for the full list.