CRA Bulletin

The CRA Bulletin frequently shares news, timely information about CRA initiatives, and items of interest to the general community.
Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay connected.

Leila De Floriani Appointed to the CRA Board of Directors

Leila De Floriani has been appointed to serve as one of the two IEEE-CS representatives on the CRA board of directors. De Floriani joins Greg Byrd and replaces David Ebert on the board. CRA would like to thank Ebert for his contributions during his term of service on the board.

Leila De Floriani is a professor at the University of Maryland, College Park. She has previously been a professor at the University of Genova (Italy), and she has also held positions at the University of Nebraska, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, and the Italian National Research Council. De Floriani is the 2020 President of the IEEE Computer Society. She has been a member of the Board of Governors of the IEEE Computer Society since 2017. She is a Fellow of IEEE, a Fellow of the International Association for Pattern Recognition as well as a Pioneer of the Solid Modeling Association. She is an IEEE Computer Society Golden Core Member and a member of the IEEE Honor Society IEEE-HKN.

She has been the editor-in-chief of the IEEE Transactions on Visualization and Computer Graphics (TVCG) from 2015-2018, and served as an associate editor for IEEE TVCG from 2004-2008. De Floriani is currently an associate editor of ACM Transactions on Spatial Algorithms and Systems, GeoInformatica, and Graphical Models. She has served on the program committees of over 150 leading international conferences, including several IEEE conferences, and has contributed to many conferences in a leadership capacity.

De Floriani has authored over 300 peer-reviewed scientific publications in data visualization, geospatial data representation and processing, computer graphics, geometric modeling, shape analysis and understanding, garnering several best paper awards and invitations as a keynote speaker. Her research has been funded by numerous national and international agencies, including the European Commission and the National Science Foundation.