CRA Bulletin

The CRA Bulletin frequently shares news, timely information about CRA initiatives, and items of interest to the general community.
Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay connected.

CRA Board and Committee Members Honored


CRA Board Member Greg Hager Inducted to American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering College of Fellows

(see original CCC Blog post)
The American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE) recently inducted the 2017 College of Fellows at their 2017 Annual Event at the National Academy of Sciences in Washington, D.C. Greg D. Hager, a professor at Johns Hopkins University, was one of the inductees. Hager is a CRA Board member and past chair of the Computing Community Consortium (CCC).

Members of the College of Fellows are considered among the top two percent of the country’s medical and biological engineers and include distinguished and accomplished research directors, professors, engineering and medical school chairs, and successful entrepreneurs and innovators.

Hager was recognized for his development of computationally enhanced imaging and image guidance and for data-driven quantification of human performance with interventional systems.
Cynthia Dwork

CCC’s Cynthia Dwork Co-winner of 2017 Gödel Prize

The 2017 Gödel Prize was recently awarded to CCC Council Member Cynthia Dwork, Frank McSherry, Kobbi Nissim and Adam Smith for their paper:

Calibrating Noise to Sensitivity in Private Data Analysis Journal of Privacy and Confidentiality, Volume 7, Issue 3 2016 (preliminary version in Theory of Cryptography, TCC 2006.) 

The Gödel Prize for outstanding papers in the area of theoretical computer science is sponsored jointly by the European Association for Theoretical Computer Science (EATCS) and the Special Interest Group on Algorithms and Computation Theory of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM SIGACT). This award is presented annually, with the presentation taking place alternately at the International Colloquium on Automata, Languages, and Programming (ICALP) and the ACM Symposium on Theory of Computing (STOC).

Cynthia Dwork, Frank McSherry, Kobbi Nissim and Adam Smith will receive the 2017 Gödel Prize at the 49th Annual ACM Symposium on the Theory of ComputiTng (STOC 2017), 19-23 June 2017, in Montreal, PQ, Canada.