CRA Bulletin

The CRA Bulletin frequently shares news, timely information about CRA initiatives, and items of interest to the general community.
Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay connected.

CRA Board Member Diana Franklin Named Distinguished Member of ACM

Today, ACM named 67 Distinguished Members for outstanding contributions to the field. CRA Board Member Diana Franklin was among those recognized for work that has spurred innovation, enhanced computer science education, and moved the field forward.

From the announcement:

“The ACM Distinguished Members program honors both accomplishment and commitment,” said ACM President Yannis Ioannidis. “Each of these new 67 Distinguished Members have been selected for specific and impactful work, as well as their longstanding commitment to being a part of our professional association. As ACM celebrates its 75th anniversary this year, it is especially fitting to reflect on how our global membership has built our organization into what it is today. Our Distinguished Members are leaders both within ACM and throughout the computing field.”

Diana FranklinDiana Franklin is an associate professor in computer science at the University of Chicago. When she received her PhD at UC Davis, 2002, her research focus was computer architecture, especially new technologies. She has done research in intelligent memories, memristors, and quantum computers. In 2008, she began her transition to computer science education research. She now leads the CANON (Computing for ANyONe) Lab, specializing in both 3rd-8th grade computer science interventions and quantum computing education for novices of any age with a particular focus towards moving towards more equitable learning experiences. She is currently the co-lead of the Q-12 Partnership, a new initiative by the Office of Science and Technology Programs, the National Science Foundation, industry, and professional organizations to bootstrap K-12 quantum information science education.

Congratulations Diana!