CRA Bulletin

The CRA Bulletin frequently shares news, timely information about CRA initiatives, and items of interest to the general community.
Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay connected.

CRA Welcomes New FY 2017-18 Board Members

July 1 marked a new fiscal year for CRA. We welcome four new members to our board of directors: Carla Brodley, Kim Hazelwood, Brian Noble, and Jaime Teevan. Retiring from the board as of June 30, 2017 are David Culler, Mary Czerwinksi, Margaret Martonosi, and Margo Seltzer. CRA would like to thank each of them for contributions during their service on the board.


Carla E. Brodley

Carla E. Brodley is the dean of the College of Computer and Information Science at Northeastern University.  Prior to joining Northeastern, she was a professor of the Department of Computer Science and the Clinical and Translational Science Institute at Tufts University (2004-2014).  Before joining Tufts she was on the faculty of the School of Electrical Engineering at Purdue University (1994-2004).

A Fellow of the ACM and the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI), Brodley’s interdisciplinary machine learning research led to advances not only in computer and information science, but in many other areas including remote sensing, neuroscience, digital libraries, astrophysics, content-based image retrieval of medical images, computational biology, chemistry, evidence-based medicine, and predictive medicine.

Brodley’s numerous leadership positions in computer science as well as her chosen research fields of machine learning and data mining include serving as program co-chair of ICML, co-chair of AAAI, and serving as associate editor of the Journal of AI Research, and the Journal of Machine Learning Research. She has previously served on the Defense Science Study Group, the CRA board of directors, the board of the International Machine Learning Society, the AAAI Council, and DARPA’s Information Science and Technology (ISAT) board.  She is currently serving as an executive committee member of the Northeast Big Data Hub, and as a member-at-large of the section on Information, Computing, and Communication of AAAS.


Kim Hazelwood

Kim Hazelwood is a senior engineering manager in Facebook’s Infrastructure division, where she leads a performance analysis team that drives the data center server and storage roadmap. Her research interests include computer architecture, performance analysis, and binary translation tools. Prior to Facebook, Hazelwood held positions including a tenured associate professor at the University of Virginia, software engineer at Google, and director of systems research at Yahoo Labs. She received a Ph.D. in computer science from Harvard University in 2004, and is the recipient of an NSF CAREER Award, the Anita Borg Early Career Award, the MIT Technology Review Top 35 Innovators under 35 Award, and the ACM SIGPLAN 10-Year Test of Time Award. She has authored over 50 conference papers and one book.

Brian Noble

Brian Noble

Brian Noble is a professor of electrical engineering and computer science at the University of Michigan, and is currently serving as the associate dean for undergraduate education for the College of Engineering. His research interests include mobile computing, distributed systems, security, file systems, engineering education, and learning analytics. He has appeared on more than 60 peer-reviewed papers. His past service includes eight years on the USENIX board of directors, as treasurer from 2010 through 2014, and president from 2014 through 2016.


Jaime Teevan

Jaime Teevan is a principal researcher at Microsoft Research and an affiliate associate professor at the University of Washington. At Microsoft Research she leads the microproductivity team and shipped the first personalized search algorithm used by Bing. Teevan has published hundreds of award-winning research papers, technical articles, books, and patents, and given keynotes and lectures around the world. Her groundbreaking research at the intersection of information retrieval and human computer interaction has earned her the Technology Review TR35 Young Innovator, CRA-W Borg Early Career, and Karen Sparck Jones awards. She received a Ph.D. and S.M. from MIT and a B.S. with honors from Yale University.


CRA Welcomes New FY 2017-18 Board Members