CRA Awards

CRA-W Borg Early Career Award (BECA)

This annual award is given to a woman in computer science and/or engineering who has made significant contributions in research, or her profession, and especially in outreach to women. This award recognizes work in areas of academia and industry/government research labs that has had a positive and significant impact on advancing women and diversity in the computing research community. The award is targeted at women that are relatively early in their careers. Nominations are due each year on February 15.

CRA-E Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentoring Award

The CRA-E Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentoring Award recognizes faculty members who have provided exceptional mentorship and undergraduate research experiences, and, in parallel, guidance on admission and matriculation of these students to research-focused graduate programs in computing. Nominations are due November 28.

CRA A. Nico Habermann Award

CRA makes an award, usually annually, to a person who has made outstanding contributions aimed at increasing the numbers and/or successes of underrepresented groups in the computing research community.  Nominations are typically due in December.

CRA Distinguished Service Award

This award recognizes service in the areas of government affairs, professional societies, publications or conferences, and leadership that has a major impact on computing research. Nominations are typically due in December.

CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award

This award program recognizes undergraduate students in North American universities who show outstanding research potential in an area of computing research. Nominations are typically due in October.


Awards of Affiliated Groups also Dedicated to Diversity in Computing

NCWIT Harrold and Notkin Research and Graduate Mentoring Award

Harrold and Notkin Research and Graduate Mentoring Award is given in memory of Mary Jean Harrold’s and David Notkin’s outstanding research, graduate mentoring, and diversity contributions. The award recognizes faculty members from non-profit, U.S. institutions who combine outstanding research accomplishments with excellence in graduate mentoring, as well as those who advocate for recruiting, encouraging, and promoting women and minorities in computing fields. Nominations typically due in early November (always check website for precise deadline for this year).

NCWIT Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award

The annual NCWIT Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award recognizes Academic Alliance representatives at non-profit, U.S. institutions for their outstanding mentorship, high-quality research opportunities, recruitment of women and minority students, and efforts to encourage and advance undergraduates in computing-related fields.

ACM-W Athena Award

The ACM-W Athena Lecturer Award celebrates women researchers who have made fundamental contributions to Computer Science.

Anita Borg Institute Awards 

These awards honor distinguished women and those who view technology innovation as a strategic imperative honor women making significant contributions to technology. Awards include: Leadership, Entrepreneurship, Student of Vision, Technical Leadership, Social Impage, Denice Denton Emerging Leader, Richard Newton Educator, Change Agent.

Other Awards