CRA Bulletin

The CRA Bulletin frequently shares news, timely information about CRA initiatives, and items of interest to the general community.
Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay connected.

National Academy of Engineering Announces New Members

Recently, the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) announced it has elected 87 new members and 18 international members. Among those elected were two former CRA board members: Joel Emer from NVIDIA and former NSF CISE AD Jim Kurose. Congratulations to all members of the computing community who were recognized.

Joel EmerJoel Emer: senior distinguished research scientist, NVIDIA, Westford, Mass.  For quantitative analysis of computer architecture and its application to architectural innovation in commercial microprocessors.


Jim KuroseJames Kurose: distinguished professor, College of Information and Computer Science, University of Massachusetts, Amherst.  For contributions to the design and analysis of network protocols for multimedia communication.

“Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.  Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to “engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature” and to “the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education.”  Election of new NAE members is the culmination of a yearlong process. The ballot is set in December and the final vote for membership occurs during January.

Individuals in the newly elected class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE’s annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on Oct. 4.  A list of the newly elected members and international members follows, with their primary affiliations at the time of election and a brief statement of their principal engineering accomplishments.”

A complete list and additional details can be accessed from the NAE website at: