CCC Task Forces

The CCC Council is broken up into various task forces depending on the need from the community. Each task force, made up of a select group of council members and community experts, focuses on a specific topic area of computing and IT in order to drive innovation and new research visions in the area through white papers, visioning workshops, the blog, and other community resources. The current task forces are listed below; to view previous CCC task forces, visit this webpage.

AI Working Group

Chairs: Elizabeth Bradley and David Parkes

The Artificial Intelligence Working Group will lead the CCC’s effort to generate an AI Roadmap. Lead by Yolanda Gil (University of Southern California and President-Elect of AAAI) and Bart Selman (Cornell University), this new effort is in support of the Administrations’ efforts in this area, and will bring together academic and industrial researchers and federal agency representatives to help chart a course for needed research in AI, through a series of workshops in the Fall of 2018, resulting in a Roadmap to be produced in the Spring of 2019. The National Science Foundation (NSF) Directorate for Computing and Information Science and Engineering (CISE) is supporting the effort, and Henry Kautz, Division Director for Intelligent Intelligent Information Systems is helping to coordinate the effort with the CCC. This effort is similar to one of the CCC’s first activities, the Robotics Roadmap, which helped to launch the National Robotics Initiative in 2011 and the subsequent 2016 Robotics Roadmap and NRI 2.0.

Industry Working Group

Chairs: Greg Morrisett and Ben Zorn

The Industry Collaboration Working Group will lead the CCC’s effort to find and communicate best practices to industry-academia and public-private partnerships. Informed by the CCC’s 2015 The Future of Computing Research: Industry-Academia Collaborations this working group will establish ties with industry and lead the creation of white papers, workshops, and other content for future collaborations. The focus of the working group for 2018-2019 will be transportation, particularly autonomous vehicles and the requisite intelligent infrastructure.

Cybersecurity and Cybercrime

Chairs: Daniel Lopresti and Keith Marzullo

An outgrowth of the Sociotechnical Cybersecurity workshop series and previous Cybersecurity Task Force, the Cybersecurity and Cybercrime task force works to identify ways to combat cybercrime and configure best practice for cybersecurity in an increasingly connected world, not solely focused on technical interventions, but also concerned with sociotechnical and economic factors.

FADE (Fairness, Accountability, Disinformation, and Explainability)

Chair: Suresh Venkatasubramanian

This task force addresses the overlapping areas of fairness, accountability, disinformation, and explainability within algorithms, big data, and the Internet. This task force combines the works of the previous Fairness and Accountabilityand Information Integrity task forces. This is a new task force – membership and scope subject to change.

Future of the Research Enterprise

Chairs: Suresh Venkatasubramanian and Ben Zorn

The Future of the Research Enterprise task force will lead activities to address the future of the research enterprise in an evolving computing research ecosystem. Topics to address will include the impact of academia-industry relations (learn more on the Industry working group page), the peer review process, and the future of open source project. This is a new task force – membership and scope subject to change.

Health and Computing

Chair: Shwetak Patel

Descendant of the Human Technology Frontier  and the Health and Human Computer Interaction task forces, this task force will focus on the usage of technology to improve community and personal health outcomes. This is a new task force – membership and scope subject to change.

Systems and Architecture

Chairs: Mark Hill and Jen Rexford

The Systems and Architecture task force leads activities to address the future of computing systems and architecture in order to achieve major goals such as overcoming the end of Moore’s Law and improving high performance computing systems.