CRA Bulletin

The CRA Bulletin frequently shares news, timely information about CRA initiatives, and items of interest to the general community.
Subscribe to the RSS feed to stay connected.

Nominations Open for 2022 CRA-E Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentoring Award

The CRA-E Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentoring Award honors faculty members in computing who have made a significant impact on students they have mentored. It recognizes those who have provided exceptional mentorship and undergraduate research experiences and, in parallel, guidance on admission and matriculation of these students to research-focused graduate programs in computing.

Eligible nominees are full-time faculty members at North American academic institutions. Faculty members include tenured and tenure-track faculty, instructors, and professors of the practice. Current members of CRA-E are not eligible to be a nominee or to serve as a nominator.  Nominations must be submitted by a faculty member or researcher in the computing field.

Nominations are due Monday, November 22, 2021, by 5 PM (ET). Winners will be notified by early February 2022. Click here to view the 2021 award winners and here to view the FAQs.

The award is given annually, and multiple recipients may be awarded. The selection committee will give appropriate consideration to different types of schools and mentors at different stages of their careers. The awardees will receive travel support to attend the meeting at which they accept the award.

Evaluation criteria
The committee will evaluate the evidence of:

  • Undergraduate student mentoring during the most recent 10 years (being sensitive to the size of the program) including the number of students enrolling in research-oriented M.S. or Ph.D. programs
  • Professional development provided to the students mentored
  • Diversity of students
  • Impact and success of the students’ research

The 2022 selection committee includes:
Denys Poshyvanyk (William & Mary), Chair
Monica Anderson (University of Alabama)
Gary Holness (Clark University)
Lenore Cowen (Tufts University)