This article is published in the November 2023 issue.

CRA-I Announces New Council Members 

By Helen V. Wright, Manager, CRA-I 

CRA-Industry (CRA-I) is happy to announce four new Council members charged with propelling the committee forward. This growing list of Council members, led by CRA-I Council Chair Divesh Srivastava (AT&T), will continue to work closely with the Steering Committee to identify future committee directions, connect with the community, and achieve the goals of CRA-I. 

CRA-I welcomes the following four Council members, nominated by colleagues in the computing research community:

Jofish Kaye
Wells Fargo

Jofish Kaye is Principal Research Scientist at Wells Fargo in Strategic Design and Innovation, and has previously worked at, Mozilla, Yahoo and Nokia. His work involves applying AI, behavioral science, and human-centered design to new product and development, and he has an extensive track record of publishing in human-computer interaction (HCI) and computer-supported cooperative work (CSCW). He has served on the ACM Diversity & Inclusion Council, the SIGCHI Executive Board, and co-chaired CHI ’16. He holds a Ph.D. in Information Science from Cornell University and BS and MS degrees from MIT.


Nita Patel

Nita Patel is Senior Director at Otis’s lead design center in Farmington, where she is leading global engineering development and providing new capabilities in connected, smart, IoT-based platforms. Nita is 2023 President of the IEEE Computer Society.  Nita received her MS Computer Engineering, BS Electrical Engineering and BS Mathematics from Southern Methodist University in Dallas.


Jennifer Rexford

Princeton University

Jennifer Rexford is the Gordon Y.S. Wu Professor of Engineering, and Chair of the Computer Science Department. Before joining Princeton in 2005, she worked for eight years at AT&T Labs—Research. She received her BSE in electrical engineering from Princeton in 1991, and her Ph.D. in electrical engineering and computer science from the University of Michigan in 1996. She served as the chair of ACM SIGCOMM from 2003 to 2007. Professor Rexford was the 2004 winner of ACM’s Grace Murray Hopper Award for outstanding young computer professional. She is an ACM Fellow (2008) and a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2013) and the National Academy of Engineering (2014).


Mark Segal
National Security Agency

Mark E. Segal is Deputy Director of the Research Directorate of the National Security Agency (NSA). In this role, Mark provides scientific and administrative oversight to an organization that conducts mission-focused research across a wide variety of scientific disciplines, and applies successful research results to NSA’s signals intelligence and cybersecurity missions. Many operational systems at NSA have key components in them derived from Research breakthroughs. Prior to this assignment, Mark was the Chief of Computer and Analytic Sciences Research, leading advanced research activities in computer systems, big-data analytics, and video, image, speech, and text-processing technology. Mark has also served as the Deputy Chief of NSA’s Laboratory for Telecommunication Sciences, leading research activities in advanced networking and computing research. Mark served as a Director of Cybersecurity Operations in the NSA/CSS [Cybersecurity] Threat Operations Center, where he led a team in a 24×7 operations center focused on protecting Department of Defense networks from cyber exploits. Mark’s work has been recognized with a National Intelligence Meritorious Unit Citation and a Presidential Rank Award. Prior to joining NSA, Mark worked at Telcordia Technologies (formerly Bellcore) as a research manager and researcher for 18 years. He served as Executive Director of Software Technology Research at Telcordia, and conducted research in distributed computing, multimedia systems, dependable systems, and cyber security. Mark holds BS, MS, and PhD degrees in Computer and Communications Sciences from the University of Michigan in Ann Arbor.

Please help the industry research community by continuing to nominate outstanding colleagues for the CRA-I Council. Read more here and send nominations to