Tag Archive: Awards

Information and announcements on CRA awards programs.


Outstanding Undergraduate Research Awards Winners Announcement

By Julia Sepulveda, Program Associate, CRA-E 2023-2024 Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award Recipients The Computing Research Association (CRA) would like to congratulate the recipients of the 2023-2024 Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Award! With the support of Microsoft Research and Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs (MERL), CRA celebrates and recognizes undergraduates who demonstrate outstanding potential in an area of […]


Charles L. Isbell Receives the 2023 CRA A. Nico Habermann Award

The Computing Research Association has selected Charles L. Isbell, Dean and John P. Imlay, Jr. Chair of the Georgia Institute of Technology College of Computing, as the recipient of the 2023 CRA A. Nico Habermann Award, in recognition of his substantial impact on improving diversity, equity, and inclusion in the computing community. 

Isbell has demonstrated substantial ability to lead, influence important people, and have tangible impact. He has changed the landscape of computing locally, nationally, and internationally, particularly for those minoritized in computing.


Lynne Parker Receives the 2023 CRA Distinguished Service Award

The Computing Research Association (CRA) has selected Lynne Parker, Associate Vice Chancellor and Director of the AI Tennessee Initiative at the University of Tennessee, as the recipient of the 2023 CRA Distinguished Service Award for her unparalleled impact on the computing research community.

Parker has made numerous outstanding contributions over the course of six years in federal government positions, leading national artificial intelligence (AI) policy across the Executive Branch and fashioning key strategic policies in support of AI research, development, and deployment.


Nanette Veilleux, William Wang, and Yi-Chieh (Jessica) Wu Receive the 2023 CRA-E Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentoring Award

The Education Committee of the Computing Research Association (CRA-E) is proud to announce three recipients of the 2023 CRA-E Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentoring Award: Nanette Veilleux from Simmons University, William Wang from University of California, Santa Barbara, and Yi-Chieh (Jessica) Wu from Harvey Mudd College.

These outstanding individuals are being recognized for providing exceptional mentorship, undergraduate research experiences, and, in parallel, guidance on admission and matriculation of their students to research-focused graduate programs in computing.


Applications Open for CRA-WP Scholarships for Women Studying Information Security

The SWSIS program provides scholarships of $2,000 or more for women studying for their Bachelor’s and Master’s degrees in fields relating to information security. The purpose of these scholarships is to provide assistance to women at the formative stages of their careers in these fields.

SWSIS is a partnership of Applied Computer Security Associates (ACSA) and CRA-WP.  Its long-term goal is to contribute to increasing the representation of women in the information security workforce.

Application Period: December 15 – February 1

Encourage your students to apply to SWSIS!

Ian FosterIan Foster

Former CCC Council Member Ian Foster Named 2022 ACM/IEEE-CS Ken Kennedy Award Recipient

Ian Foster, former Computing Community Consortium (CCC) Council Member and Professor at the University of Chicago and Division Director at Argonne National Laboratory, was recently named the 2022 Ken Kennedy award recipient. Presented by the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers Computer Society (IEEE-CS) the Ken Kennedy Award is an annual honor recognizing contributions to programmability and productivity in computing and community service or mentoring contributions.


Nominations Open for 2023 CRA Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Researchers

The Computing Research Association (CRA) is pleased to announce the annual CRA Award for Outstanding Undergraduate Researchers, which recognizes undergraduate students in North American colleges and universities who show outstanding research potential in an area of computing research. The award is a wonderful way to recognize your best student researchers and your department.