Tag Archive: Board Updates

Updates on the CRA Board of Directors.


2021 CRA Leadership Summit and Board Meeting Highlights

Leadership Summit participants heard from Dahlia Sokolov, Staff Director for the Research & Technology Subcommittee of the House Committee on Science, Space and Technology, on congressional science priorities; CCC Chair Liz Bradley gave an update on the CRA Quadrennial Papers initiative; and CRA Board Chair Ellen Zegura moderated discussion on what each of the societies are doing around the subject of the societal impact of computing and how the societies can work together on umbrella efforts that cut across organizations.

Two leadership summit sessions were held jointly with the CRA board meeting. CRA Director of Government Affairs Peter Harsha discussed the current environment in D.C. for science policy, and Margaret Martonosi, Assistant Director for NSF CISE, discussed COVID-19 effects and various actions NSF has taken to mitigate the impacts to the computing community.

At the CRA Board Meeting, the board discussed strategic planning efforts, CRA Industry Committee initiatives and elected FY22 officers.

CRA FY22 Executive Committee  
The CRA board of directors held elections for board officers to serve two-year terms beginning July 1, 2021. Nancy Amato was elected chair; Dan Grossman was elected vice-chair; Ran Libeskind-Hadas was re-elected secretary; and James Allan was re-elected treasurer.


2018 Board Election Results and New Appointed Board Members

CRA members have elected five new members to its board of directors: James Allan, Maria Ebling, Ayanna Howard, Ran Libeskind-Hadas, and Rachel Pottinger. Current board members Michael Franklin, Stephanie Forrest, Kathryn McKinley, Greg Morrisett, and Vivek Sarkar were re-elected to the CRA board.

There have also been changes to the appointed members to the board, who are not elected. Charles Isbell has been appointed the new AAAI representative, replacing Lise Getoor, and Kate Larson has been appointed the Info-CAN/CS-CAN representative, replacing Mario Nacimento. Beginning July 1, Mark Hill will replace Elizabeth Mynatt as the CCC Chair and representative on the board.

CRA would like to thank all retiring board members for contributions during their service on the board.


CRA Board Member Farnam Jahanian Named President of Carnegie Mellon University

CRA Board Member Farnam Jahanian has been named President of Carnegie Mellon University (CMU). From 2011 to 2014, Jahanian served as Assistant Director (AD) for Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE) at the National Science Foundation (NSF). In 2015, he was elected to the CRA Board of Directors and also received the CRA Distinguished Service Award. Jahanian is currently the chair of the National Research Council’s Computer Science and Telecommunications Board.


Nominees Sought for CRA Board of Directors

The Computing Research Association seeks your help in suggesting nominations for its board of directors. We want individuals who have the time, energy and initiative to work on CRA issues on behalf of the entire CRA community. We have a working board, and all members are expected to be involved with community issues.

May AnnouncementsMay Announcements


New Incoming CRA Board Member: Jaime Teevan
CRA Welcomes Claire Brady
Former CRA Board Member Jeannette Wing to Lead Columbia University’s Data Science Institute
Eric Horvitz, Former CCC Council Member, is New Head of Research at Microsoft
Former CRA Board Member Receives 2016 ACM Software System Award

2017 new board members2017 new board members

2017 Board Election Results

CRA members have elected two new members to its board of directors: Carla Brodley and Kim Hazelwood. Current board members Nancy Amato, Susan Davidson, Dan Grossman, Brent Hailpern, Susanne Hambrusch, Barbara Ryder and Ellen Zegura were re-elected to the CRA board. Also beginning July 1, Brian Noble will be the USENIX representative to the CRA board replacing Margo Seltzer. Retiring from the board as of June 30, 2017 are David Culler, Mary Czerwinski and Seltzer. CRA thanks them all for contributions during their service on the board.

Exec boardExec board

CRA Board Officers Re-Elected

At the CRA board meeting on February 28, the CRA board of directors voted to re-elect its current board officers to serve new two-year terms beginning July 1, 2017. The board officers include: Susan Davidson (chair), Susanne Hambrusch (vice chair), Ron Brachman (treasurer), and Greg Morrisett (secretary).