Tag Archive: Board of Directors

2024 CRA Board of Directors Election Results

By Matt Hazenbush, Director of Communications  CRA members have elected four new individuals to its Board of Directors: David Bader (New Jersey Institute of Technology), Bruce Hendrickson (Lawrence Livermore National Lab), Fatma Ozcan (Google), and Manuel Pérez-Quiñones (University of North Carolina at Charlotte). In addition, five current Board members won reelection: James Allan (University of Massachusetts Amherst), Ran Libeskind-Hadas (Claremont McKenna College), Rachel Pottinger (University of British Columbia), Eve Schooler (Intel, […]


Eugene Spafford Appointed to the CRA Board of Directors

Eugene H. Spafford has been appointed to serve as one of the two ACM representatives on the CRA Board of Directors, replacing Kathleen Fisher and joining Alexander Wolf. CRA would like to thank Fisher for her contributions during her term of service on the board. Spafford has been a member of CRA’s Government Affairs Committee for approximately 20 years, and this is his second stint on the CRA Board, having served previously from 1998 – 2007.


Candidates Sought for CRA Board of Directors

The Computing Research Association seeks your help in recruiting candidates for its Board of Directors. We want individuals who have time, energy, initiative, and resources to work on CRA issues on behalf of the entire CRA community. We have a working Board, and all members are expected to work on community issues. Candidates may nominate themselves by completing this form. The deadline for receipt of nominations is December 17, 2021. 

2021 Board Election Results2021 Board Election Results

2021 CRA Board of Directors Election Results

CRA members have elected three new members to its Board of Directors: Diana Franklin, Katie Siek and Eve Schooler. James Allan, Stephanie Forrest, Ayanna Howard, Ran Libeskind-Hadas, Rachel Pottinger, and Chris Ramming were re-elected to the CRA board. All of their terms run from July 1, 2021 through June 30, 2024. Vivek Sarkar will remain on the board as the co-chair of the CRA Industry Committee. CRA would like to thank everyone who agreed to run this year.

Retiring from the board as of June 30, are Michael Franklin, Kathryn McKinley, Greg Morrisett, and Ellen Zegura. CRA thanks them all for contributions during their service on the board.

New boardNew board

New CRA Board Members: Arvind Krishnamurthy, Timothy M. Pinkston and Forrest Shull

CRA recently welcomed Arvind Krishnamurthy, Timothy M. Pinkston, and Forrest Shull as new Board Members. Krishnamurthy is the Vice President of the USENIX Board of Directors and replaces Brian Noble as the USENIX representative on the CRA Board. Pinkston replaces Mark D. Hill as an academic member on the Board. Hill recently moved into industry with a position at Microsoft as Partner Hardware Architect with Azure, requiring him to step down from the Board. Shull is the President of IEEE-CS and replaces Greg Byrd as one of the IEEE-CS representatives on the Board. CRA thanks Byrd, Hill, and Noble for their terms of service on the CRA Board.

2020 New Board Members2020 New Board Members

2020 Board Election Results and New Appointed Board Members

CRA members have elected three new members to its Board of Directors: Alex Aiken, Cindy Bethel and Fatma Özcan. Nancy Amato, Carla Brodley, Dan Grossman and Kim Hazelwood were re-elected to the CRA board. Mary Hall and Mark Hill, who held non-elected positions on the board, have also been elected. All of their terms run from July 1, 2020 through June 30, 2023. CRA would like to thank everyone who agreed to run this year. There have also been changes to the appointed members to the board. Kathleen Fisher has been appointed the new ACM
representative, replacing Mary Hall and joining Alexander Wolf. Beginning July 1, Liz Bradley will replace Mark Hill as the CCC Chair and representative on the board.


2020 Board of Directors Election Slate; Nominees By Petition Sought

CRA is pleased to announce the 2020 Election Committee’s slate of nominees for the CRA Board. CRA also encourages nominations by petition. Petition nominations must be signed by the Designated Voting Representatives of at least five Constituent Member Organizations that are current in dues payment.

Important dates and events:
• On March 6, 2020, final ballots will be distributed to all CRA department chairs and lab directors. Each will have one vote for each open slot on the board.
• On March 31, 2020, completed ballots must be returned to CRA.
• In early April, the election results will be announced.