This article is published in the March 2005 issue.

CRA Elects Officers to Two-Year Terms

The CRA board has recently elected its officers who will serve two-year terms (July 1, 2005 to June 30, 2007).

  • Dan Reed (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill) was elected Board Chair
  • Lori Clarke (University of Massachusetts, Amherst) will serve as Vice Chair
  • Carla Ellis (Duke University) was elected Secretary
  • Phil Bernstein (Microsoft Research) was re-elected CRA’s Treasurer

Daniel A. Reed is Chancellors Eminent Professor, Director of the Renaissance Computing Institute, and Vice-Chancellor for Information Technology at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Professor Reed has been a member of the CRA Board of Directors since 1998. He has chaired CRA’s High-End Computing Revitalization Taskforce (HECRTF) Workshop; CRA’s Government Affairs Committee, Awards Committee, and Distinguished Service Award Committee; and currently chairs the Communications Committee and is an active member of the Government Affairs Committee. Professor Reed also serves as CRA’s Liaison to the Committee to Diversify Computing (CDC) and the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

In 2003, Reed was appointed to the Presidents Information Technology Advisory Committee (PITAC), and chairs its Computational Science Subcommittee. He was previously Head of the Department of Computer Science at the University of Illinois, and Director of the National Center for Supercomputing Applications. In 2003 and 2004, Professor Reed testified before House and Senate committees on computational science. He is a Fellow of the ACM and of IEEE, and has received a number of awards and honors.

Professor Reed’s research interests include Interdisciplinary collaboration, high-performance computing, experimental performance analysis, parallel I/O, resource management, distributed systems and Grids. He is a graduate of Purdue University with a Ph.D. in Computer Science.

Lori Clarke, Professor of Computer Science at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, joined the CRA board in1999. She currently serves on the Executive Committee and was a member of the program committee for the CRA Conference at Snowbird 2004. As a member of CRA-W, Clarke has worked since 2001 to increase its funding and program participation, and also served as a panelist for the Grad Cohort and CAPP programs. She participated in CRA-W’s Distributed Mentor Program in 2001, 2002, and 2004. Clarke chaired CRA’s Academic Careers Workshop committee in 2002 and 2004, and has chaired the CRA Outstanding Undergraduate Awards Committee.

In 2004, Professor Clarke was awarded the Distinguished Engineering Alumni Award in the Research and Invention Category from the University of Colorado School of Engineering. She has received both a Faculty Fellowship Award and Chancellor’s Distinguished Faculty award from the University of Massachusetts. Her research interests include software verification and testing of distributed systems. Clarke has a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Colorado.

Professor Ellis joined the CRA board in 2003. She has been a member of CRA’s Committee on the Status of Women in Computing Research since 2000, and is currently its co-chair. She also served on CRA’s Committee on Recruitment and Retention in 2000-01, and has frequently been a mentor in CRA-W’s Distributed Mentoring Program.

Professor Ellis has chaired ACM SIGOPS (1995-99) and SIG’s Governing Board (1998-2000). She has served on the ACM Executive Committee and as a Council Member. Other activities include Editor-in-Chief, ACM Transactions on Computer Systems (TOCS) in 2003; and Program Chair of the USENIX Annual Technical Conference in 2002.

Professor Ellis’s research interests include operating systems, mobile computing, parallel and distributed systems, and energy management. She is a graduate of the University of Washington with a Ph.D. in Computer Science.

Philip A. Bernstein is a Senior Researcher at Microsoft Research and an Affiliate Professor at the University of Washington. He has worked as an industrial researcher, executive manager, executive technical consultant, and product architect at both hardware and software companies, and as a professor in large and small computer science departments. Bernstein’s research interests include database systems, meta-data management, and transaction processing. Dr. Bernstein is an ACM Fellow and a winner of the ACM SIGMOD Innovations Award (1994). He received a Ph.D in Computer Science from the University of Toronto.

Bernstein was elected to the CRA Board in 2001. He has been a member of the Executive Committee since 2002, and was elected Treasurer in 2003. He is currently a member of CRA’s Industry Committee and Communications Committee. Dr. Bernstein was co-chair of the 2002 Snowbird Conference. He also co-chaired the Industry-University Committee and currently serves as a member.

Dr. Bernstein is also an active contributor to professional activities in the database research community. He is currently a member of the Board of Trustees of the Very Large Data Base Endowment, a member of the Advisory Board of University of Washington, Tacoma, and has been both a member and chair of the ACM SIGMOD Awards Committee.

CRA is grateful to all the members of the current Executive Committee for their service during the period July 2003 to June 2005:

  • James D. Foley (Georgia Institute of Technology) as Chair
  • Janice Cuny (University of Oregon) as Vice Chair
  • Phil Bernstein (Microsoft) as Treasurer
  • Kathleen McKeown (Columbia University) as Secretary
  • Lori Clarke (University of Massachusetts, Amherst), appointed member
CRA Elects Officers to Two-Year Terms