This article is published in the May 2005 issue.

CRA Elects New Board Members

CRA recently elected five new members to its board of directors. Anne Condon (University of British Columbia), Richard A. DeMillo (Georgia Institute of Technology), Peter Lee (Carnegie Mellon University), J Strother Moore (University of Texas at Austin), and David Notkin (University of Washington) will serve three-year terms beginning July 1, 2005.

Two current board members, Lori Clarke (University of Massachusetts at Amherst) and Richard C. Waters (Mitsubishi Electric Research Laboratories), were re-elected to three-year terms. Wim Sweldens (Lucent Technologies, Bell Labs) and Bryant York (Portland State University) were appointed to complete the terms (ending June 30, 2006) of two members who resigned from the board.

Newly Elected

Anne Condon is Professor of Computer Science at the University of British Columbia. She is the NSERC Chair for Women in Science and Engineering (2004-09), and received the Distinguished Alumna Award from University College in Cork, Ireland, in 2001. Professor Condon has been an active member of CRA-W since 1994, serving as co-chair from 1999-2002, and has been an effective fundraiser for the Canadian Distributed Mentor Project. She is a theoretical researcher, contributing to the foundations of the field and to prediction of molecular structure, bio-molecular computation, verification, and probabilistic planning. Professor Condon received a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Washington.

Richard A. DeMillo is Dean and Distinguished Professor of Computing, College of Computing, Georgia Institute of Technology. He is an AAAS Fellow and a widely respected computer scientist. Professor DeMillo served as Chief Technology Officer at the Hewlett Packard Company and as Head of Information and Computer Sciences Research at Telcordia Technologies. He also directed the CISE Computer and Computation Research Division of the National Science Foundation. Professor DeMillo’s research interests lie in the areas of information security, nanotechnology, computing and communication architectures, and software engineering. He received a Ph.D. in Information and Computer Science from the Georgia Institute of Technology.

Peter Lee is Professor of Computer Science at Carnegie Mellon University. He has served as Associate Dean for Undergraduate Programs in the CS school where he was involved in initiatives related to women and minorities. Professor Lee is an ACM Fellow, and has received the Allen Newell Award for Research Excellence, the Herbert A. Simon Award for Teaching Excellence, and an NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award. He serves on the Army Science Board, as well as DARPA’s ISAT Committee and its IXO Senior Advisory Group. Professor Lee’s research interests include programming language design and implementation, compiler design, static program analysis, and certified code, especially proof-carrying code. Professor Lee received a Ph.D. in Computer and Communications Sciences from the University of Michigan.

J Strother Moore is Chair of the CS Department and holds the Admiral B.R. Inman Centennial Chair in Computing Theory at the University of Texas at Austin. He is an AAAI Fellow, and in 1999 was a co-recipient of the Herbrand Award at the Conference on Automated Deduction. Professor Moore previously was a founder and chief scientist at Computational Logic, Inc. He is currently a member of the Academic Alliance of the National Center for Women and Information Technology. Professor Moore helped found the fields of mechanized inductive theorem proving and hardware and software verification. He received a Ph.D. in Computational Logic from the University of Edinburgh.

David Notkin is Bradley Professor and Chair of the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Washington. He is an ACM Fellow, and he has received the R1edu Award for Distinguished Faculty Contributions to Online Learning, the University of Washington Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award, and an NSF Presidential Young Investigator Award. Professor Notkin has been active in ACM, serving as Chair of SIGSOFT, as a member of the SIG Governing Board, and as Associate Editor of ACM Transactions on Software Engineering & Methodology. His research interests lie in software engineering, software evolution, and software testing and evaluation. Professor Notkin received a Ph.D. in Computer Science from Carnegie Mellon University.

Board Appointments

Wim Sweldens, Vice President, Computing Sciences Research, Lucent Technologies, Bell Labs, has been appointed to complete the term (ending June 30, 2006) of Elaine Weyuker, AT&T – Research, who resigned from the board. He is an IEEE Fellow and the winner of the 2003 SPIE Wavelet Pioneer Award. MIT’s Technology Review chose him as one of 100 top young innovators in 1999, and in the same year he won the SIAM Outstanding Paper Award (across all SIAM journals). Dr. Sweldens’ research interests include wavelets algorithms and high dimensional multiresolution; computer graphics; image and video compression; network management and network modeling languages; and secure networking. Dr. Sweldens received a Ph.D. from the Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Belgium.

Bryant York, Professor of Computer Science, Portland State University, has been appointed to complete the term (ending June 30, 2006) of Jan Cuny, University of Oregon, who resigned from the board. Professor York has been awarded the CRA A. Nico Habermann Award, the Tapia Award, and in 2001 was named one of the Top 50 African Americans in Information Technology. He has been an active member of the Coalition to Diversify Computing (CDC, a joint organization of ACM, CRA and IEEE-CS) and the CDC Executive Committee, and was General Co-Chair of the Tapia Conference in 2003. Professor York’s research interests lie in the areas of parallel computing, machine learning, and educational technology. He received a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Massachusetts, Amherst.

CRA Elects New Board Members