This article is published in the May 2008 issue.

CRA Elects New Board Members

Susanne Hambrusch is a Professor in the Department of Computer Science at Purdue University, and recently completed five years as department head. Since 2003, she has served as Co-Director of the Center for Wireless Systems and Applications at Purdue. As a CRA-W board member, Hambrusch has served as a co-director of CREU and MRO-W, and was an Invited Distinguished Professor in its Cohort of Associate Professors Project in 2005. At Snowbird 2006, she was a panelist in the New Department Chairs Workshop, and will co-chair that workshop in 2008. She has also organized a workshop for Snowbird 2008. Hambrusch has served as a member of External Advisory Boards at Virginia Tech and Georgia Tech, and has been a member of the Editorial Boards of Parallel Computing and Information Processing Letters. Her research interests includeparallel and distributed computation, data management and query processing in mobile environments, uncertainty management in databases, and analysis of algorithms. Professor Hambrusch was awarded a Ph.D. in computer science from Pennsylvania State University.

James Kurose is Distinguished University Professor, Department of Computer Science at the University of Massachusetts, Amherst, where he served as chair from 1998-2001. He is a Fellow of both the IEEE and the ACM; other honors include the IEEE Computer Society’s Taylor Booth Education Medal, and IEEE Communication Society Publications Exemplary Service Award. Kurose was Founding Editor-in-Chief, IEEE/ACM Transactions on Networking, and twice served on the IEEE Communications Society Board of Governors. He has been program co-chair of a number of conferences and workshops, including IEEE Infocom, ACM Sigcomm, ACM Sigcomm Education Workshop, ACM Sigmetrics, and ACM IMC. Kurose also has chaired a number of NSF workshops such as Network Research Testbeds and Integrated Computing and Education and Research, and co-chaired a CPATH New England Town Hall Meeting. He currently serves on the ACM Education Council. Professor Kurose’s research interests include network protocols and architecture; network measurement; sensor networks; multimedia communication; and modeling and performance evaluation. He was awarded a Ph.D. in Computer Science from Columbia University.

Valerie Taylor is Professor and Head of the Department of Computer Science at Texas A&M University. She has served as co-chair, chair, and member of the Executive Committee of the Coalition to Diversify Computing. Active in Snowbird Conferences, Taylor has been a member of the program committee; a panel member on the workshop for New Department Heads workshop; and a panel co-chair for the Industrial Affiliates Programs session. In 2006, Taylor was part of the NSF Delegation of CS Department Heads visit to China. Currently she is co-organizer of Academic Workshops for Under-Represented Faculty and Senior Graduate Students. She has served on several editorial boards and won a number of prestigious awards. Taylor’s research interests include: systematically analyzing and improving application performance in the context of parallel and distributed applications; dynamic and static load balancing for distributed applications; and analysis of nano-memories. Professor Taylor received her Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of California, Berkeley.

Five current board members—Rich DeMillo (Georgia Tech), Peter Lee (Carnegie Mellon), J Strother Moore (University of Texas at Austin), David Notkin (University of Washington), and Dick Waters (Mitsubishi Electric Research Labs)—were re-elected to three-year terms effective July 1, 2008.

Anne Condon (University of British Columbia), who will complete her first term on the board on June 30, 2008, did not run again due to new responsibilities at UBC. Mike Jones (Microsoft Research), who has represented USENIX on the board since 2002, has recently been replaced by Peter Honeyman (University of Michigan). Our thanks to Anne and Mike for their contributions to CRA.

The terms of the chair and vice chair, Dan Reed and Lori Clarke, respectively, have been extended by one year (July 1, 2008 to June 30, 2009) to enable them to complete their two-year terms as officers.

CRA Elects New Board Members