This article is published in the May 2009 issue.

CRA Elects New Board Members

CRA has recently elected five new members to its board of directors. They will begin three-year terms on June 17, 2009, the first day of the summer board meeting.

Sarita Adve is a Professor of Computer Science and Director of Research at the Intel/Microsoft Universal Parallel Computing Research Center at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. She received the ACM SIGARCH Maurice Wilkes Award in 2008 and was named a University Scholar at UIUC in 2004. She was a member of the committee to recommend new members of the Computing Community Consortium (CCC) Council, and a core working group member of the cross-layer reliability visioning process approved by CCC in 2008. She is a member of the ACM SIGARCH Board of Directors. In 2007 she co-chaired the program committee and was guest editor for the IEEE Micro’s Top Picks from Computer Architecture Conferences. She served on the Advisory Committee (2003-05) of the National Science Foundation’s Computer and Information Science and Engineering (CISE) Directorate. Professor Adve has served as a panelist and speaker at CRA-W events, and in 2007 authored an article in Computing Research News to increase awareness for support for conference attendees with young children and for physically disabled researchers. Her research interests include computer architecture and systems, parallel computing, power and reliability-aware systems. She was awarded a Ph.D. in Computer Science from the University of Wisconsin-Madison.

Kathleen Fisher is a Principal Member of the Technical Staff at AT&T Labs Research Department of Computer Science. In 2008, she received a SIGPLAN CACM Research Highlights nomination, was appointed a Consulting Member of the faculty at Stanford University, and was an invited Technical Speaker at the Grace Hopper Conference. She was named ACM Distinguished Scientist in 2007. She is involved in the ACM SIG Governing Board Executive Committee, serving as Vice Chair for SIG Development (2008-10). She was SIGPLAN Chair (2007-09), Vice Chair (2003-07), and Member at Large (2001-03). Dr. Fisher initiated, organized, led, and raised funds for the first SIGPLAN Curriculum Workshop, which explored what, how, and why we should be teaching undergraduates about programming languages. Since 2005 she has served as Editor of the Journal of Functional Programming. Dr. Fisher has been very active in CRA-W—board member (2003-present), steering committee member (2006-present), and chair (October 2008-present)—and has an impressive array of accomplishments in that role. Her research interests include data description languages, type inference for data description languages, type systems, and domain-specific programming languages.She is a graduate of Stanford University with a Ph.D. in Computer Science.

H. V. Jagadish is Bernard A Galler Collegiate Professor of Engineering in the EECS Department at the University of Michigan, where he received the Research Excellence Award from the College of Engineering in 2008. He was a member of a Visiting Committee to the School of Computing at the National University of Singapore in 2008. Professor Jagadish was awarded the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science Achievement Award at the University of Michigan in 2007. He is an ACM Fellow (2003). He participated in the CRA-NIH Workshop on Computing for Biomedical Sciences (2006). Other experience includes Trustee of the VLDB Foundation (2004-09); Member, ACM SIGMOD Advisory Committee (2001-05); Editor-in-Chief, Proceedings of the VLDB Endowment; and Founding Member of the Steering Committee for a new interdisciplinary undergraduate program in Informatics at the University of Michigan (2006-present). In 2003, he organized the NSF-NIH Workshop on Data Management for the Biological Sciences. Dr. Jagadish’s research interests involve information management, web systems, database usability, and biomedical information. He was awarded a Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University.

Margaret Martonosi is a Professor of Electrical Engineering at Princeton University, where she was named to the School of Engineering Commendation List for Outstanding Teaching in each of the past three years. She was recognized for Best Paper at the 38th Annual International Symposium on Microarchitecture, Barcelona, Spain in 2005. A Princeton faculty member since 1994, Professor Martonosi was Associate Dean for Academic Affairs in the Princeton School of Engineering and Applied Science from 2005-07. She was Program Chair of the ACM SIGMETRICS Conference in 2002. She was an IBM Research Staff Member (sabbatical visitor, June-December 2004). Other activities include: Vice Chair of ACM SIGARCH, currently serving on the Board of Directors; Technical Program Chair, ACM ASPLOS Conference (2006); ACM SenSys Conference (2008); and HIPEAC European Conference on Embedded Systems (2009). Professor Martonosi has been a member of the CRA-W board since 2005, and currently co-chairs the CRA-W/CDC Discipline-Specific Workshops project. She has been a participant and organizer of numerous CRA-W events and workshops. Her research interests include computer architectures and the hardware/software interface, particularly power-efficient systems and, most recently, power-efficient wireless networks. Professor Martonosi received her Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University.

Jonathan Turner, Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at Washington University in St. Louis, has more than 25 years as a computing researcher, educator and academic administrator. He is a Member of the National Academy of Engineering (2007), a Fellow of both IEEE and ACM, and an IEEE Koji Kobayashi Award winner. Professor Turner has been Department chair (1992–97; 2007–08); Co-Founder and Chief Scientist of Growth Networks, (1998–2000); and Founder and Director of Applied Research Lab (1990–91; 2000–08). He was a participant in two of CRA’s Conferences on Grand Research Challenges—the first on Research Directions for the Next Generation Internet in 1997, and the second on Information Systems in 2003.  His research interests include high performance networking, multimedia applications, performance analysis, and analysis of algorithms. Professor Turner received a Ph.D. in Computer Science from Northwestern University.

Four current board members—Annie Anton (North Carolina State), William Aspray (University of Texas at Austin), Eric Grimson (Massachusetts Institute of Technology), and Andrew Chien (Intel Corp.)—were re-elected to serve additional three-year terms.

Members whose terms on the board will end in June 2009 include Carla Ellis, Duke University; Dan Reed, Microsoft Research; Jeff Vitter, Texas A&M University; Marc Snir,University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign; Bob Sproull, Sun Microsystems Laboratories; and Bryant York, Portland State University. We acknowledge with thanks their many contributions to CRA during their tenure as board members.

CRA Elects New Board Members