This article is published in the May 2011 issue.

CRA Election Results

CRA recently elected five new members to its Board of Directors. They will begin three-year terms on July 1, 2011.

Mary Czerwinski

Mary Czerwinskiis the Research Area Manager, Visualization and Interaction for Business and Entertainment (VIBE) at Microsoft Research. In 2009, she was honored by ACM with its Distinguished Scientist Award, SIGCHI Lifetime Service Award, and SIGCHI CHI Academy Award. She has participated in CRA-W events and served as an invited lecturer, presenter, and panelist at the Grace Hopper Conference. Her research interests include: group awareness, communication and collaboration, personal information management, multitasking and task switching, information visualization, spatial cognition, and ubiquitous computing. Dr. Czerwinski received a Ph.D. in Cognitive Psychology from Indiana University, Bloomington, and brings a unique perspective to the board. PERSONAL WEB PAGE

Susan B. Davidson

Susan B. Davidsonis the Weiss Professor and Chair of the Department of Computer and Information Science at the University of Pennsylvania. An ACM Fellow since 2001, she received the ACM Service Award for performance as General Chair (PDIS 1994 and SIGMOD 2009). Davidson was a Member of the NRC’s Committee on Engaging the Computer Science Research Community in Health Care Informatics (2007-09). She is Founder and Chair of Advancing Women in Engineering (2007-present) and was Co-Founder and Co-Director of the Center for Bioinformatics (1997-2003). Her research interests lie in the areas of databases and bioinformatics. Her goal as a CRA Board member is to strengthen the interdisciplinary impact and diversity of computer science. Professor Davidson received a Ph.D. in Computer Science from Princeton University. PERSONAL WEB PAGE

Brent T. Hailpern

Brent T. Hailpernis the Director of Programming Models and Tools at the IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center. He is an ACM Fellow (2001) and an IEEE Fellow (1995). He received SIGPLAN’s Distinguished Service Award 1998 and IBM’s Outstanding Innovation Award in 1996. Hailpern has served as Chair, SIGPLAN (1993-95); Chair, ACMOOPSLA Conference 1999 and OOPSLA Steering Committee (1999-2002); Co-Chair, ACM History of Programming Languages Conference (HOPL-III, 2007); Secretary, ACM (1997-98); and Associate Editor, ACM TOPLAAS (2001-07). His research interests include programming languages and software engineering, object-oriented systems, concurrent systems, program verification, and governance of software development. Dr. Hailpern earned a PhD in Computer Science from Stanford University.

Jeannette M. Wing

Jeannette M. Wingis Professor of Computer Science and Head of the CS Department at Carnegie Mellon University. From 2007 to 2010 she was Assistant Director, Computer and Information Science and Engineering, at the National Science Foundation; and Co-Chair, Networking and Information Technology Research and Development (NITRD). Professor Wing is a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences (2010); Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (2007); Fellow of the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM, 1998); and Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers (IEEE, 2003). Her research interests include: trustworthy computing, privacy, security, software specification and verification, distributed and concurrent systems, programming languages, programming methodology, and software engineering. Professor Wing received a PhD in Computer Science from MIT. PERSONAL WEB PAGE

Ellen W. Zegura

Ellen W. ZeguraProfessor and Founding Chair of the CS Department at Georgia Tech, is an IEEE Fellow (2010). Her research interests include: computer networking, Internet and mobile wireless; and humanitarian computing. She was a Member of the Interim Computing Community Consortium (CCC) that provided guidance to the GENI Planning Committee (2006), and Co-chair and then Chair of the Network Science and Engineering (NetSE) Research Council under the auspices of the CCC (2007-09). Zegura served as a Member of the NSF CISE Advisory Board (2005-09). Academic leadership positions included Interim Dean and Associate Dean during creation of the Threads undergraduate curriculum. She has served on CRA-W’s DMP selection and matching committee. Professor Zegura received a DSc in Computer Science from the Washington University in St. Louis. PERSONAL WEB PAGE


Four current board members, James Kurose (University of Massachusetts at Amherst), David Notkin (University of Washington), Valerie Taylor (Texas A&M University), and J Strother Moore (University of Texas at Austin), were re-elected to three-year terms effective July 1, 2011.


The terms of five members will endJune 30, 2011. Rich DeMillo (Georgia Tech) served two terms and was active in the formation of CRA-E, chairing the committee in 2010-11. Two industry/lab members, Phil Bernstein (Microsoft) and Dick Waters (MERL), both of whom were term-limited, played significant roles during their tenure—Phil in his stellar service as CRA Treasurer from 2003-11 and Co-Chair of Snowbird 2002; and Dick in his ongoing role as Chair of the Outstanding Undergraduate Researcher Awards committee, appointed member of the Executive Committee 2005-07, and Co-Chair of Snowbird 2004. Ran Libeskind-Hadas (Harvey Mudd) focused on research experiences for undergraduates during his one-year appointed term on the board.Sebastian Thrun (Stanford) also will complete a one-year appointment as a board member. We acknowledge with thanks the contributions of all to CRA.


In officer elections this year, the board re-elected three of the current slate of officers for additional two-year terms (2011-13):  Chair, Eric Grimson (MIT); Vice Chair, Laura Haas (IBM Almaden); and Secretary, Martha Pollack (University of Michigan). The board also elected Ronald Brachman (Yahoo!) as CRA’s new Treasurer for a two-year term effective July 1.

CRA Election Results