This article is published in the February 2014 issue.

Announcements, February 2014

Congratulations to Newly Elevated IEEE Fellows

Chris Johnson, CRA Board Member, and Ross Whitaker, CCC Council member have been named IEEE Fellows.

Chris JohnsonChristopher Johnson
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, UT, USA

“for leadership in scientific computing and scientific visualization”
rwhitakerRoss Whitaker
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, UT, USA

“for contributions to image and geometry processing, visualization, and medical image analysis”

Borg Early Career Award

The Computing Research Association’s Committee on the Status of Women in Computing Research (CRA-W) invites nominations for the Borg Early Career Award. The award honors the late Anita Borg, who was an early member of CRA-W and an inspiration for her commitment in increasing the participation of women in computing research.

The deadline for nominations is February 15, 2014. Please send a note to indicating intent to submit.

More information about eligibility and nomination requirements.


NSF CISE CAREER Proposal Writing Workshop

The CISE Directorate at NSF will host a one-day workshop on writing proposals for the Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) program. This workshop is scheduled for March 31, 2014 at the Hilton Arlington (950 N Stafford St., Arlington, VA). The goal of this workshop is to enable junior CAREER-eligible faculty to prepare competitive proposals for the NSF CAREER program. Faculty members will have the opportunity to improve their skills in proposal writing, experience mock panel reviews, and interact with NSF program directors from the CISE divisions (ACI, CCF, CNS, and IIS), as well as with recent NSF CAREER awardees. Registration is required by February 21, 2014.


2014 Service to CRA Award

Jean SmithCRA Board Chair J Moore has selected Jean Smith to receive the Service to CRA Award. The award recognizes outstanding service to CRA as an organization.

Jean Smith is recognized for her 15 years of outstanding service at CRA. She was editor of Computing Research News, and assisted the organizing committee for CRA’s Biennial Conference at Snowbird in planning the program and publicizing the conference to the computing research community. Jean also organized CRA Board meetings, elections, the preparation of CRA’s annual reports and oversaw three annual CRA awards programs. The award will be presented to her at the 2014 CRA Conference at Snowbird.

Announcements, February 2014