This article is published in the January 2016 issue.

Nominees for CRA Board Announced and Petition Nominees Sought

2016 Election Committee’s slate of nominees for the CRA Board

CRA is pleased to announce the 2016 Election Committee’s slate of nominees for the CRA Board:

Academic Nominees (4 openings)
Jay Aslam (Northeastern University)
Ivona Bezakova (Rochester Institute of Technology)
Chris Johnson (University of Utah)
Sri Kurniawan (University of California, Santa Cruz)
Dinesh Manocha (UNC Chapel Hill)
Penny Rheingans (University of Maryland, Baltimore County)
Shashi Shekhar (University of Minnesota)
Josep Torellas (University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign)
André van der Hoek (University of California, Irvine)

Industrial Nominees (2 openings)
Ron Brachman (Yahoo Labs)
Arnie Lund (GE Global Research)
Min Wang (Visa)

CRA is also currently accepting nominations by petition.

Petition Nominees Sought for CRA Board of Directors

The Computing Research Association seeks your help in suggesting nominations for its Board of Directors. We need individuals who have the time, energy, initiative, and resources to work on CRA issues on behalf of the CRA community. Ours is a working board, and all members are expected to work on community issues.

The CRA Elections Committee has recently announced its slate of nominees for a seat on the Board of Directors. CRA also encourages nominations by petition. Petition nominations signed by the Designated Voting Representatives of at least five Constituent Member Organizations that are current in dues payment will be accepted until February 5, 2016.

A complete nomination package for petition candidates must be submitted here no later than February 5, 2016. Separately, each of the five supporters of the petition must send an e-mail to simply stating their support for the petition candidate to run for a seat on the CRA Board of Directors.

Questions can be sent to elections [at]

Important dates and events:

  • On February 5, 2016, petition nominations due
  • On February 12, 2016, final ballots will be distributed to all CRA department chairs and lab directors. Each will have one vote for each open slot on the board.
  • On February 26, 2016, completed ballots must be returned to CRA.
  • In early March, the election results will be announced.