This article is published in the October 2017 issue.

Nominations Open for 2018 CRA-E Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentoring Award

This award program honors faculty members in computing who have made a significant impact on students they have mentored. The CRA-E Undergraduate Research Faculty Mentoring Award recognizes faculty members who have provided exceptional mentorship and undergraduate research experiences and, in parallel, guidance on admission and matriculation of these students to research-focused graduate programs in computing.

Eligible nominees are full-time faculty members at North American academic institutions. Faculty members include tenured and tenure-track faculty, instructors, and professors of the practice. Current members of CRA-E are not eligible to be a nominee or to serve as a nominator. A nominee must be nominated by a faculty member or researcher in the computing field. Nominations are due Monday, November 27, 2017 by 8 PM (ET). Winners will be notified by early February 2018. Click here to view the 2017 award winners and here to view the FAQs.

The award is given annually, and multiple recipients may be awarded. The selection committee will give appropriate consideration to different types of schools and mentors at different stages of their careers. The awardees will receive travel support to attend the meeting at which they accept the award.

Evaluation criteria

The committee will evaluate the evidence of undergraduate student mentoring during the most recent 10 years including the number of students enrolling in research-oriented M.S. or Ph.D. programs (being sensitive to the size of the program); professional development provided to the students mentored; diversity of students; and impact and success of the students’ research.

The 2018 selection committee includes:

Barbara Ryder, Virginia Tech, Chair
Chandra Krintz, UC Santa Barbara
Pat Morreale, Kean University
Denys Poshyvanyk, William & Mary
Neil Spring, University of Maryland