This article is published in the January 2020 issue.

2020 CRA Conference at Snowbird Preliminary Agenda

Snowbird 2020The biennial CRA Conference at Snowbird is the flagship invitation-only conference for the leadership of the North American computing research community.

The conference site: The Snowbird Resort is located in the Wasatch Mountains about 30 miles from Salt Lake City. A top-rated ski resort in the winter, off-season at Snowbird offers hiking amidst beautiful scenery.

This year at the conference:
The 2020 CRA Conference at Snowbird is co-chaired by Penny Rheingans, University of Maine, and Jaime Teevan, Microsoft Research.

A major focus of the conference will be the opportunities and responsibilities of computing research to increase the social good. Plenary sessions will feature former CRA board member Margaret Martonosi, incoming NSF CISE AD, a discussion on CRA strategic planning, and a view into computing and Washington from Peter Harsha, CRA’s Director of Government Affairs. The meeting will also include short after-dinner talks on computing research futures organized by the Computing Community Consortium.

A preliminary program is below. It will be updated on the CRA website as additional information becomes available. During the meeting, there will also be several hours of free time for networking, mingling, hiking, or hanging out and enjoying the gorgeous environment.

Registration will open on the CRA website in April 2020.


CRA Conference at Snowbird 2020 Preliminary Program

Tuesday, July 21
3:00 – 5:45 pm  New Chairs Workshop
This workshop will give new CS department chairs some of the skills needed to lead their organizations and work with deans, provosts, and advisory boards – the stuff they never told you in graduate school.

6:00 – 7:00 pm  Welcome Reception
7:00 – 9:00 pm  Dinner/Awards/Plenary Session 

Wednesday, July 22
8:30 am – 10:00 am  Plenary Session
10:30 am – noon  Parallel Tracks
Noon – 1:30 pm  Lunch
1:30 – 3:00 pm  Parallel Tracks
3:30 – 5:00 pm  Networking Activities
6:30 – 9:00 pm  Dinner
After dinner research talks — organized by the Computing Community Consortium
Chair: Elizabeth Bradley, University of Colorado, Boulder (incoming CCC Chair)
Speakers: Toddy Hylton, University of California, San Diego and Melanie Mitchell, Portland State University

Thursday, July 23
8:30 – 10:00 am  Plenary Session
10:30 – Noon  Parallel Tracks
Noon – 1:30 pm  Lunch
1:30 – 3:00 pm  Parallel Tracks
3:30 – 5:00 pm  Making a Federal Case for Computing
6:30 pm  Dinner

Parallel Session Topics

  • Departmental Broadening Participation in Computing Plans
    • Chair: Nancy Amato, University of Illinois
  • Incorporating Ethics into Computer Science Education
    • Co-Chairs: Jenn Beard, Mozilla, Kathy Pham, Mozilla, and Bobby Schnabel, University of Colorado
  • Computer Science Research in Industry
    • Chair: Jaime Teevan, Microsoft
  • Earth Day at Snowbird: Computing to address grand challenges facing our changing planet
    • Co-Chairs: Kate Larson, University of Waterloo and Shashi Shekhar, University of Minnesota
  • Development of Teaching Faculty
    • Chair: Ran Libeskind-Hadas, Harvey Mudd College
  • Security and Privacy Education
    • Chair: Lorrie Cranor, Carnegie Mellon University
  • Industry/Academia Partnerships
    • Chair: Divesh Srivastava, AT&T
  • From Fairness to Responsibility: Actioning and advancing the discussion around “algorithmic bias”
      Chair: Brent Hecht, Microsoft
  • Undergraduate Research and Booming Enrollments: Who Wins
    • Chair: Lori Pollock, University of Delaware
  • Data Science on Computer Science Education
    • Chair: David Ebert, Purdue University
  • Techlash in Context: What should CS departments do?
    • Chair: Vivek Sarkar, Georgia Tech
  • Allyship: Fostering inclusion from academia to industry
    • Chair: Patrick Pantel, Facebook

    2020 Conference at Snowbird Organizing Committee: 

    • Penny Rheingans (University of Maine) Co-Chair
    • Jaime Teevan (Microsoft) Co-Chair
    • James Allan (University of Massachusetts, Amherst)
    • Christine Alvarado (University of California, San Diego)
    • Lorrie Cranor (Carnegie Mellon University)
    • Kate Larson (University of Waterloo)
    • Ran Libeskind-Hadas (Harvey Mudd College)
    • Patrick Pantel (Facebook)
    • Divesh Srivastava (AT&T)

    New Department Chairs Workshop

    • Susanne Hambrusch (Purdue University) Co-Chair
    • Rachel Pottinger (University of British Columbia) Co-Chair