This article is published in the May 2020 issue.

Former CRA Board Member and CRA-W Co-Chair Leah H. Jamieson Receives the IEEE James H. Mulligan, Jr. Education Medal

The Computing Research Association extends a heartfelt congratulations to former board member and CRA-W Co-Chair Leah H. Jamieson for receiving the IEEE James H. Mulligan, Jr. Education Medal to honor her “contributions to the promotion, innovation, and inclusivity of engineering education.”

The IEEE James H. Mulligan, Jr. Education Medal (formerly the IEEE Education Medal) was established in 1956 by the American Institute of Electrical Engineers and continued by the Board of Directors of IEEE. It is through this medal that IEEE recognizes the importance of the educator’s contributions to the vitality, imagination, and leadership of the members of the engineering profession.

Jamieson’s engagement with, and support of, the Computing Research Association’s Committee on Widening Participation in Computing Research (CRA-WP), formerly known as CRA-W, over many years, serves as a testament to her unwavering dedication and genuine desire to truly make a positive difference in the lives of others. She also served on the CRA board of directors from 1998 to 2007.

CRA-WP is humbled to receive a generous contribution from Jamieson’s award as she looks to highlight “organizations that played [a] significant role in enabling and shaping the contribution” she is recognized for today. This contribution to CRA-WP programs will be used to support the success and participation of women, underrepresented minorities, and persons with disabilities in computing research and education at all levels.