This article is published in the January 2021 issue.

New CRA Board Members: Arvind Krishnamurthy, Timothy M. Pinkston and Forrest Shull

CRA recently welcomed Arvind Krishnamurthy, Timothy M. Pinkston, and Forrest Shull as new Board Members. Krishnamurthy is the Vice President of the USENIX Board of Directors and replaces Brian Noble as the USENIX representative on the CRA Board. Pinkston replaces Mark D. Hill as an academic member on the Board. Hill recently moved into industry with a position at Microsoft as Partner Hardware Architect with Azure, requiring him to step down from the Board. Shull is the President of IEEE-CS and replaces Greg Byrd as one of the IEEE-CS representatives on the Board. CRA thanks Byrd, Hill, and Noble for their terms of service on the CRA Board.

Arvind Krishnamurthyarvind
Arvind Krishnamurthy is Short-Dooley Professor in the Paul G. Allen School of Computer Science & Engineering. His research interests span all aspects of building effective and robust computer systems, in the context of both data centers and Internet-scale systems. More recently, his research has focused on programmable networks and systems for machine learning. He is past program chair of ACM SIGCOMM and USENIX NSDI, serves on their technical steering committees, is the Vice President of USENIX, and serves on the ICSI and CRA Boards.

Recent research:


Timothy M. PinkstonTimothy Pinkston
Timothy M. Pinkston is holder of the George Pfleger Chair in Electrical Engineering, former holder of the Louise L. Dunn Endowed Professorship in Engineering, and Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Southern California (USC). He also is the Vice Dean for Faculty Affairs in the USC Viterbi School of Engineering. He earned a B.S.E.E. degree from The Ohio State University in 1985, and he earned M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Electrical Engineering from Stanford University in 1986 and 1993, respectively.

Prior to joining USC in 1993, he was a Member of Technical Staff at Bell Laboratories, a Hughes Doctoral Fellow at Hughes Research Laboratory, and a visiting researcher at IBM T. J. Watson Research Laboratory. He founded the SMART Interconnects Group at USC where he conducts research on computer systems architecture. With over a hundred peer-reviewed technical publications, he has made key research contributions to deadlock-free adaptive routing, router microarchitecture and interconnection networks (both distributed and on-chip networks) that achieve high-performance and energy-efficient data movement in multicore and multiprocessor computer systems–from embedded processors to compute servers to large-scale datacenters.

He has received prominent national awards, including the NSF Minority Research Initiation Award and NSF CAREER Award, and is the proud recipient of a Distinguished Alumnus Award from The Ohio State University’s College of Engineering and Minority Engineering Program. He served three years (2005-2008) as an NSF Program Director in the CISE Directorate, serving the last year of his stint as the inaugural Lead Program Director for the newly established Expeditions in Computing Program. He has contributed other significant service to the profession as an Associate Editor of the IEEE Transactions on Parallel and Distributed Systems (TPDS), as a member of the Executive Committee of the IEEE Technical Committee on Computer Architecture (TCCA), and in several key leadership roles and on many technical program committees for top, flagship conferences in the field, including serving as General Co-Chair for the 45th ACM/IEEE International Symposium on Computer Architecture (ISCA’18), Program Chair of the 15th IEEE International Symposium on High Performance Computer Architecture (HPCA’09), and General Chair of the 21st IEEE International Parallel and Distributed Processing Symposium (IPDPS’07). He also co-organizes the CMD-IT Annual Academic Workshop for Underrepresented Ethnic Minorities and Persons with Disabilities and engages in many other efforts to broaden the participation and development of minorities in engineering. Dr. Pinkston is a member of AAAS, Fellow of the ACM, and Fellow of the IEEE.

Forrest ShullShull
Dr. Forrest Shull is Lead for Defense Software Acquisition Policy Research at Carnegie Mellon University’s Software Engineering Institute (SEI). His role is to lead work with the U.S. Department of Defense, other government agencies, national labs, industry, and academic institutions to advance the use of empirically grounded information to inform policies related to software engineering. Currently, he is providing technical leadership to the DoD in support of important initiatives to improve software acquisition, culminating in the development of the Department’s first software-specific acquisition policy.

He has been a lead researcher on projects for the U.S. DoD, NASA’s Office of Safety and Mission Assurance (OSMA), the NASA Safety Center, the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA), the National Science Foundation, and commercial companies. He is the author of over 100 peer-reviewed publications and co-editor of the Guide to Advanced Empirical Software Engineering. 

He is President of the IEEE Computer Society, the world’s leading membership organization dedicated to computer science and technology.