This article is published in the March 2024 issue.

2024 CRA Board of Directors Election Results

By Matt Hazenbush, Director of Communications 

CRA members have elected four new individuals to its Board of Directors: David Bader (New Jersey Institute of Technology), Bruce Hendrickson (Lawrence Livermore National Lab), Fatma Ozcan (Google), and Manuel Pérez-Quiñones (University of North Carolina at Charlotte).

In addition, five current Board members won reelection: James Allan (University of Massachusetts Amherst), Ran Libeskind-Hadas (Claremont McKenna College), Rachel Pottinger (University of British Columbia), Eve Schooler (Intel, retired and University of Oxford), and Katie Siek (Indiana University Bloomington).

CRA would like to thank all of the candidates who ran for a seat on the Board of Directors this election cycle. Those named above will serve from July 1, 2024 through June 30, 2027.

Four Board members’ terms of service will end June 30, 2024: Stephanie Forrest (Arizona State University), Diana Franklin (University of Chicago), Chris Ramming (VMWare by Broadcom), and Jing Xiao (Worcester Polytechnic Institute). CRA thanks them for their contributions during their time with the Board.

New Board Members

CRA is thrilled to welcome the following four new members to its Board of Directors.

David Bader

David Bader is a Distinguished Professor and a founder of the Department of Data Science in the Ying Wu College of Computing at the New Jersey Institute of Technology, where he also serves as the Director of the Institute for Data Science.

Dr. Bader is a Fellow of the IEEE, ACM, AAAS, and SIAM, and a recipient of the IEEE Sidney Fernbach Award in 2021. He was inducted into the Innovation Hall of Fame at the University of Maryland’s A. James Clark School of Engineering in 2022, the same institution from which he earned his Ph.D. in electrical engineering.

Through his service on the Board, Dr. Bader aims to strategically position CRA’s activities with the AI revolution.

Bruce Hendrickson

Bruce Hendrickson is the Principal Associate Director for Computing at the Lawrence Livermore National Lab. In this role, he leads an organization of around 1,400 computing professionals with responsibility for the full breadth of the Laboratory’s computational needs, including research, platforms, and services.

Dr. Hendrickson is a Fellow of SIAM and AAAS, and a winner of the SuperComputing Conference Test of Time Award and the George R. Cotter Award, among many honors received during his distinguished career. He earned his Ph.D. in computer science from Cornell University.

As a CRA Board member, Dr. Hendrickson hopes to build the organization’s ties to US national laboratories.

Fatma Ozcan

Fatma Ozcan is a Principal Software Engineer at Google, leading data analysis research in Systems Research@Google. Previously, she was a Distinguished Research Staff Member and a Senior Manager at IBM Almaden Research Center.

Among Dr. Ozcan’s many honors are the VLDB Women in Database Research Award (2022), the IBM Corporate Award for PureXML Database Technology (2008) and the IBM Extraordinary Technical Accomplishment Award (2010 & 2009). She is an ACM Distinguished Member and the Vice Chair of ACM SIGMOD. She earned her Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Maryland, College Park.

Dr. Ozcan currently serves on the CRA-Industry Steering Committee, and will become its Co-Chair in July 2024.

She aims to continue to deepen CRA collaboration with industry through her reappointment to the Board.

Manuel Pérez-Quiñones

Manuel Pérez-Quiñones is a Professor in the Department of Software and Information Systems in the College of Computing and Informatics at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.

Dr. Pérez-Quiñones has received a number of honors and awards over his distinguished career, including being named an ACM Distinguished Member for Outstanding Educational Contributions to Computing (2019), the CRA Nico A. Haberman Award (2018), and the Richard A. Tapia Achievement Award for Scientific Scholarship, Civic Science and Diversifying Computing (2017), among others. He earned a D.Sc. in computer science from The George Washington University.

Dr. Pérez-Quiñones has been involved with a number of CRA activities, recently including serving on the Organizing Committee for the CRA Leadership Academy (2023), the Search Committee for the CRA Executive Director (2022), and the Steering Committee (2020-2023).

Through his service on the Board, Dr. Pérez-Quiñones seeks to continue his collaboration with CRA on efforts to broaden participation in computing.

Reelected Board Members

CRA is pleased to share news of the reelection of the following five members of the Board of Directors.

James Allan

James Allan is a Professor and Associate Dean of Research and Engagement at the Manning College of Information and Computer Sciences at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Dr. Allan is a Fellow of the ACM and was elected to the ACM SIGIR Academy in 2021. He won the ACM SIGIR Test of Time Award in 2016, among other career honors. He earned his Ph.D. in computer science from Cornell University.

Dr. Allan has served as a CRA Board member since 2018, and as the Treasurer and member of the Executive Committee since 2019.


Ran Libeskind-Hadas

Ran Libeskind-Hadas is the Founding Chair of the Kravis Department of Integrated Sciences at Claremont McKenna College. He is the recipient of several honors, including the NCWIT EngageCSEdu Engagement Excellence Award and the Harvey T. Mudd Prize, among others. He earned his Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, and was honored in 2012 with its CS Distinguished Alumni Educator Award.

Dr. Libeskind-Hadas has served as a CRA Board member since 2018, and as a member of the Executive Committee since 2019, serving as Secretary from 2019 to 2023 and as Vice Chair since 2023. He previously served as a member of the CCC and Co-Chair of CRA-E.

Rachel Pottinger

Rachel Pottinger is a Professor of Computer Science at the University of British Columbia. She is a recipient of the Denice Denton Emerging Leader Award from the Anita Borg Institute and is a multi-time winner of the UBC Computer Science Department Faculty Teaching Award. She earned her Ph.D. in computer science from the University of Washington.

Dr. Pottinger has served as a CRA Board member since 2018, and is a Co-Chair of the CRA Committee on Organizing the 2024 CRA Conference at Snowbird.

Eve Schooler

Eve Schooler is a RAEng Visiting Professor of Sustainable Computing at University of Oxford. She previously worked for nearly two decades at Intel, where she was a Principal Engineer and Director. She is an IEEE Fellow and co-recipient of the IEEE Internet Award (2020). She earned her Ph.D. in computer science from the California Institute of Technology.

Dr. Schooler has served as a CRA Board member since 2021, and has been a CRA-Industry Council member since 2023.

Katie Siek

Katie Siek is a Professor of Informatics at Indiana University Bloomington. She is an ACM Distinguished Member and recipient of several prestigious honors, including the Indiana University Trustees Teaching Award, NCWIT Undergraduate Research Mentoring Award, and the Borg Early Career Award, among others. She earned her Ph.D. in computer science from Indiana University.

Dr. Siek has served as a CRA Board member since 2021, and as Secretary and a member of the Executive Committee since 2023. She also serves on the CCC Council, is Vice Chair of the CRA Committee on Surveys, and is Chair of the CRA Working Group on Misconduct Issues.

Stay Up to Date on CRA Board Activities

The CRA Board of Directors will convene next from July 22-23 in Snowbird, Utah. For updates on the CRA Board, including agendas programmatic committee updates, as well as Board meeting summaries, follow the CRA Bulletin and Computing Research News.