ACM Celebrates Recipients of the 2019 & 2020 ACM Athena Lecturer Award

ACM recently released a video highlighting the 2019-2020 and 2020-2021 recipients of the ACM Athena Lecturer Award.

CRA-WP Board Member Ayanna Howard, Dean of The Ohio State University College of Engineering, is the 2020-2021 ACM Athena Lecturer. Howard is recognized for fundamental contributions to the development of accessible human-robotic systems and artificial intelligence, along with forging new paths to broaden participation in computing through entrepreneurial and mentoring efforts.

The 2019-2020 ACM Athena Lecturer Award is presented to Sarit Kraus of Bar-Ilan University for foundational contributions to artificial intelligence, notably to multiagent systems, human-agent interaction, autonomous agents and nonmonotonic reasoning, and exemplary service and leadership in these fields.

The ACM Athena Lecturer Award celebrates women researchers who have made fundamental contributions to Computer Science. Each year ACM honors a preeminent woman computer scientist as the Athena Lecturer. The recipient gives an invited talk at a major ACM conference of her choice. The award includes a $25,000 honorarium provided by Two Sigma.