Susan Rodger

Susan Rodger Susan Rodger is a Professor of the Practice in the Department of Computer Science at Duke University. She was previously an Assistant Professor in the Computer Science Department at Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. She received her MS and Ph.D. in Computer Science from Purdue University and her BS in Computer Science and Mathematics from […]

Padma Raghavan

Padma Raghavan Padma Raghavan is the Vice Provost of Research at Vanderbilt University. Recently, Padma left Pennsylvania State University, where she was the Associate Vice President for Research and the Director of Strategic Initiatives at the Pennsylvania State University, and also a Distinguished Professor of Computer Science and Engineering. Raghavan was the founding Director of the […]

Kathryn McKinley

Kathryn McKinley Kathryn S. McKinley is a Senior Research Scientist at Google and previously was a Researcher at Microsoft and an Endowed Professorship at The University of Texas at Austin. Her research spans programming languages, compilers, runtime systems,   architecture, performance, and energy. She and her collaborators have produced several widely used tools: the DaCapo […]

Anna Karlin

Anna Karlin Anna Karlin, Microsoft Professor of Computer Science and Engineering, received her Ph.D. from Stanford University in 1987. Before coming to the University of Washington, she spent 5 years as a researcher at (what was then) Digital Equipment Corporation’s Systems Research Center. Her research is primarily in theoretical computer science: the design and analysis […]

Ayanna Howard

Ayanna Howard Ayanna Howard, Ph.D. is the Linda J. and Mark C. Smith Chair in Bioengineering in the School of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology. She received her B.S. in Engineering from Brown University, her M.S.E.E. from the University of Southern California, and her Ph.D. in Electrical Engineering from the […]

Natalie Enright Jerger

CRA-W BECA Award 2015 Natalie Enright Jerger BECA (Borg Early Career Award) 2015 Recipient Natalie Enright Jerger is an Associate Professor in the Edward S. Rogers Sr. Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at the University of Toronto. Prior to joining the University of Toronto in 2009, she received her MSEE and PhD from the […]

Julia Hirschberg

Julia Hirschberg Julia Hirschberg is Percy K. and Vida L. W. Hudson Professor of Computer Science and Chair of the Computer Science Department at Columbia University. She worked at Bell Laboratories and AT&T Laboratories — Research from 1985-2003 as a Member of Technical Staff and a Department Head, creating the Human-Computer Interface Research Department in […]

Susanne Hambrusch

Susanne Hambrusch CMW-Research Susanne Hambrusch is a professor of computer science at Purdue University. Her research interests are in query and data management, computer science education, parallel and distributed computation, and analysis of algorithms. Susanne currently also serves on the board of directors of the Computing Research Association (CRA), CRA’s Taulbee Survey Committee and she […]

Maria Gini

Maria Gini Maria Gini is a Professor in the Department of Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Minnesota. She specializes in Artificial Intelligence and robotics, in particular, robot planning, navigation in unknown environments, coordinated behaviors of autonomous robots, search and rescue applications, and economic agents. She is a Fellow of the Association for […]

Carla Ellis

Carla Ellis Newsletter Carla Ellis is a professor Emerita of Computer Science at Duke University. She received her B.S. degree from the University of Toledo in 1972 and her M.S. and Ph.D. degrees from the University of Washington, Seattle, in 1977 and 1979. Before coming to Duke in 1986, she was on the faculty at […]