This article is published in the January 2016 issue.


ACM Fellows Named

The Association for Computing Machinery (ACM) recently announced the 2015 ACM Fellows. The Fellows are recognized for their significant contributions to the development and application of computing. Several CRA participants were named Fellows:

  • Nancy Amato, CRA Board Member, CRA-W Co-Chair, CRA-E Member
  • Cynthia Dwork, CCC Council Member
  • Mary Czerwinski, CRA Board Member
  • Julia Hirschberg, CRA-W Board Member, Former CRA Board Member
  • Elizabeth Mynatt, CCC Vice-Chair

From the ACM Press Release: “Whether they work in leading universities, corporations, or research laboratories, these newly minted ACM Fellows are responsible for the breakthroughs and industrial innovations that are transforming society at every level,” explains ACM President Alexander L. Wolf. “At times, the contributions of a Fellow may include enhancements to a device that immediately impacts our daily lives. At other times, new research discoveries lead to theoretical advances that, while perhaps not immediately perceptible, have substantial long-term impacts.”


10 women in networking/communications that you should know

Congratulations to two CCC Council Members Jennifer Rexford and Klara Nahrstedt for being named “10 women in networking/communications that you should know.” Click here to read more:


2016 IEEE – Fellows

IEEE recently announced their list of 2016 Fellows.

CRA and CRA-W Board member Tracy Camp was honored for contributions to wireless networking.

CCC Council Member Lorenzo Alvisi was honored for contributions to reliable distributed systems.

Click here for the full list of 2016 Fellows:


Education Policy

CRA Education committee member Jeffrey Forbes was appointed chair of the ACM Education Policy Committee. Click here to read his article published on discussing computer science education.