This article is published in the November 2015 issue.


CRA Taulbee Survey in Progress, Salary Deadline November 17

The CRA Taulbee Survey is now in progress. The survey has been split into two parts this year: Part 1, salaries, is due November 17. Part 2, the remaining student and faculty data, is due January 22. If your doctoral department in computer science, computer engineering, or information has not received information about the survey, please contact Betsy Bizot, CRA Director of Statistics and Evaluation, at

Coming Soon: CRA and ACM Enrollments Survey

An ad hoc CRA committee is in the final stages of creating a department-level survey with questions about enrollment growth and department responses and impact. We will be contacting department heads of both doctoral departments (through the Taulbee survey) and non-doctoral departments (through the ACM NDC survey) in November to request your help. Data on the extent of the enrollment issue is badly needed for our community; thus, please help your department complete the survey. If you have questions or concerns, please contact CRA Board Member Tracy Camp, Colorado School of Mines, at

Apply Now for CRA-W Grad Cohort 2016

craw_vtCRA-W is now accepting applications for Grad Cohort 2016, a 2-day workshop during which participants will learn graduate school survival skills, receive mentoring, and develop networks with senior female computing researchers. This is a great opportunity for female graduate students to build mentoring relationships and develop peer networks to form the foundation of their graduate career and beyond.

Female graduate students in their first three years are eligible to apply.

The Grad Cohort 2016 workshop will be held at the Hilton San Diego Bayfront in San Diego, California, on April 15-16, 2016. The application deadline is November 30, 2015. Click here to apply. For more information, visit the Grad Cohort 2016 Workshop page.

Nominations Open for 2016 CRA Awards

CRA invites nominations for the 2016 CRA Distinguished Service Award and A. Nico Habermann Award. The deadline for both awards is December 11, 2015.

Nominees Sought for CRA Board

Click here to fill out the nomination form.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is December 4, 2015.


Nancy AmatoNancy Amato, who is a member of the CRA Board of Directors, co-chair of CRA-W, and member of the CRA Education Committee, was recently named one of “25 Women in Robotics You Need to Know About.” In October, Nancy presented at the House STEM Education Caucus-sponsored briefing for congressional staff titled “Building a STEM Education Pipeline Aligned with Industry Needs: Perspectives from the Field.” 

Patty Lopez

Patty Lopez, CRA-W board member and Expanding the Pipeline CRN column editor, was recently honored with the Advocating Women in Engineering Award from the Society of Women Engineers (SWE). The award honors an individual who has demonstrated professional excellence in their chosen STEM field and has proven to be an advocate of women in engineering and of SWE’s objectives.


Jeffery VitterJeffery Vitter, co-chair of the Government Affairs Committee, was recently named the Chancellor of the University of Mississippi.